Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
An Orc on the Wild Side

An Orc on the Wild Side

by Tom Holt

Narrated by Ray Sawyer

Unabridged — 13 hours, 52 minutes

Tom Holt
An Orc on the Wild Side

An Orc on the Wild Side

by Tom Holt

Narrated by Ray Sawyer

Unabridged — 13 hours, 52 minutes

Tom Holt

Audiobook (Digital)

$22.49
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$24.98 Save 10% Current price is $22.49, Original price is $24.98. You Save 10%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $22.49 $24.98

Overview

An Orc on the Wild Side is the latest comic masterpiece from one of the funniest writers in fantasy.

Winter is coming, so why not get away from it all?

Being the Dark Lord and Prince of Evil is not as much fun as it sounds, particularly if you are a basically decent person. King Mordak is just such a person. Technically he's more goblin than person, but the point is that he is really keen to be a lot less despicable than his predecessors.

Not that the other goblins appreciate Mordak's attempts to redefine the role. Why should they when his new healthcare program seems designed to actually extend life expectancy, and his efforts to end a perfectly reasonable war with the dwarves appear to have become an obsession?

With confidence in his leadership crumbling, what Mordak desperately needs is a distraction. Perhaps some of these humans moving to the Realm in search of great homes at an affordable price will be able to help?



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

★ 07/15/2019

J.R.R. Tolkien gets what’s coming to him in this hilarious fifth YouSpace novel (after The Good, the Bad, and the Smug), a witty parody of high fantasy. A few contemporary humans travel to an alternate reality known as the Hidden Realms and immediately attempt to gentrify it, though it is one of the oldest and most feared places in the multiverse. Their plans clash with the bureaucratic obsession of the elves, the strangely progressive New Evil governance style of the goblin king, and the avarice of the dwarves, and may also bring about an ancient prophecy spelling out the end of the world. The broad cast includes a wraith who’d rather be a supermodel, a Dark Lord fixated on benevolent reform, a con artist hoping to make her fortune, and some snooty married couples who imagine they’re retiring in style to their very own magical towers. Holt’s dry silliness is the perfect vehicle for critiquing both current events and classic fantasy novels. Clever and entertaining all the way through, this should find a place in the hearts of anyone who likes their fantasy with a side of irreverent humor. (Sept.)

From the Publisher

"Clever and entertaining all the way through, this should find a place in the hearts of anyone who likes their fantasy with a side of irreverent humor. "—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A broadly comic, pratfall-filled commentary on society."—Locus

"Extremely entertaining . . . . Holt's verbal acuity simply does not falter."—Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on The Management Style of the Supreme Beings

"This is a must-read for those who grew up in awe of The Phantom Tollbooth...Holt achieves near-perfection in his new comic fantasy."—Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) on The Good, The Bad and The Smug

"Exceedingly clever and funny."
RT Book Reviews on The Good, The Bad and The Smug

"Satisfying and entertaining."
RT Book Reviews on The Outsorcerer's Apprentice

"Holt has a zany humor that will appeal to fans of Terry Pratchett and Christopher Moore."
Library Journal on The Outsorcerer's Apprentice

"Tom Holt's Doughnut presents a roller-coaster ride through the world of physics and the origins of the universe."—Library Journal on Doughnut

"Holt adds to his repertoire of comedic sf, one of the most difficult genre acts to master. Theo is an engaging hero; his brilliance is counteracted by his laziness and his compassion, which is matched by his sense of survival. Place this title alongside Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman's Good Omens, Pratchett's "Discworld" series, and the absurdist works of mainstream authors such as John Barth and Gilbert Sorrentino."—Library Journal (Starred Review) on Doughnut

"Blonde Bombshell is a clever, funny, tirelessly inventive, apocalyptic leg-hump of a book."—Christopher Moore, New York Times bestselling author, on Blonde Bombshell

Library Journal

08/30/2019

The latest hilarious send-up of classic fantasy tropes from Holt (Who's Afraid of Beowolf?) continues in this fifth "Youspace" novel. Humans have arrived in the Hidden Realms and are ready to settle down. But they must contend with things like using spells to open doors as well as dealing with overbearing elves. Then there is King Mordak, the ruler of the goblins, who sets up "New Evil" (less killing and more peaceful coexistence). He finds the humans and their iron products dangerous, but plots to import goods from the human world cheaply and sell them as goblin-made (with a nice mark-up of course). This would benefit both parties, except that the goblin horde would be out of work, unless other jobs are created for them to keep them from rebelling. A plethora of side characters with their own issues completes this absurdist tale. VERDICT Holt has taken over the satirical fantasy novel from writers such as Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, with a dose of Kurt Vonnegut tossed in. For readers who do not take their fantasy stories too seriously, or appreciate them a bit silly, this is a gem.—Lucy Roehrig, Ann Arbor Dist. Lib., MI

Product Details

BN ID: 2940173405685
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Publication date: 09/10/2019
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews