An Unspeakable Hope: Brutality, Forgiveness, and Building a Better Future for My Son

An Unspeakable Hope: Brutality, Forgiveness, and Building a Better Future for My Son

by Leon Ford, Jeffrey Renard Allen

Narrated by Not Yet Available

Unabridged

Leon Ford
An Unspeakable Hope: Brutality, Forgiveness, and Building a Better Future for My Son

An Unspeakable Hope: Brutality, Forgiveness, and Building a Better Future for My Son

by Leon Ford, Jeffrey Renard Allen

Narrated by Not Yet Available

Unabridged

Leon Ford

Audiobook (Digital)

$23.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account

Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on May 2, 2023

Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $23.99

Overview

An unforgettable and stirring memoir in the vein of Free Cyntoia, Just Mercy, and The Sum of Us that both inspires and upends our understanding about the future of policing in the United States.

In 2012, nineteen-year-old Leon Ford was shot five times by a Pittsburgh police officer as he was racially profiled during a case of mistaken identity. When he woke up in the hospital, he was faced with two life-changing realities: he was a new father, and he was paralyzed from the waist down.

Now, Ford reveals how he faced these new truths and discovered the power of forgiveness and letting go of his hatred. He explains how his harrowing experience inspired his lifelong commitment to social activism. In the wake of countless similar shootings across the country over the years, he has dedicated himself to bridging the gap between the police and the communities they are supposed to serve.

With his compassionate voice, Ford not only offers fresh, counterintuitive advice for social change but also demonstrates how together, we can end police brutality and heal as a country. As he once said, “Lead with love. Start compassionate conversations even with individuals and systems that have caused you pain. I know from experience that you can make your pain purposeful.”


Related collections and offers

Product Details

BN ID: 2940176644524
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication date: 05/02/2023
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 970,700

Customer Reviews