The Anatomy of Deception

The Anatomy of Deception

by Lawrence Goldstone
3.5 26

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

The Anatomy of Deception by Lawrence Goldstone

In the tradition of Caleb Carr’s The Alienist and Matthew Pearl’s The Dante Club, this mesmerizing forensic thriller thrusts the reader into the operating rooms, drawing rooms, and back alleys of 1889 Philadelphia, as a doctor grapples with the principles of scientific process to track a daring killer.

In the morgue of a Philadelphia hospital, physicians uncover the corpse of a beautiful young woman. What they see takes their breath away. Within days, one doctor, Ephraim Carroll, strongly suspects that he knows the woman’s identity. . .and the horrifying events that led to her death. But in this richly atmospheric debut novel – an ingenious blend of history, suspense, and early forensic science – the most compelling chapter is yet to come, as the young doctor is plunged into a maze of murder, secrets, and unimaginable crimes.

Peopled with vibrant real-life characters such as Canadian William Osler, hailed as the Father of Modern Medicine; famed surgeon William Stewart Halsted, who performed the first emergency blood transfusion and invented surgical gloves; and the controversial painter Thomas Eakins, The Anatomy of Deception brings to life a little-known and exciting turning-point in American medical history, when ignorant butchery gave way to intelligent surgery–and a young doctor is forced to confront an agonizing moral choice between exposing a killer, undoing a wrong, and, quite possibly, protecting the future of medicine itself.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385341356
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 02/24/2009
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 665,901
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Lawrence Goldstone, with his wife, Nancy, is the author of two critically acclaimed narrative histories of medicine and anatomy. He has written for the Boston Globe, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Miami Herald. He lives in Westport, Connecticut.

From the Hardcover edition.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Anatomy of Deception 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dr. Ephraim Carroll comes to the University Of Pennsylvania Medical School to study under the renowned Dr. William Osler. He is soon pulled into an investigation of a chain of murders that seemed to be tied to the doctors of the medical school. The murders introduce Ephraim to both the high society and underbelly of Philadelphia. Ephraim must decide what is more important, the life of one man, or the well-being of thousands. This is an amazing forensic thriller that will draw in the reader instantly. This book is filled with mystery, intrigue, and a historical account of medical practices in 1889.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1889 at the University Of Pennsylvania Medical School, chief of clinical medicine Dr. William Osler glances at the corpse of a beautiful woman in the Dead House, but decides no autopsy is necessary. His young students and subordinates are stunned by Osler¿s decision. Not long afterward one of the shocked physicians Dr. George Turk dies from what loks like cholera. Osler sanctions an autopsy that reveals the late doctor¿s body had traces of arsenic. Another doctor training under the great Osler, Dr. Ephraim Carroll believes George and the Jane Doe were murdered. Disobeying his superior, Ephraim investigates the deaths and bounces between Philadelphia¿s debauched upper crust and the deviant decadent waterfront alienating the medical establishment every step of the way. --- This is a terrific medical historical thriller that is anchored by the real persona of Dr. Osler and a document he wrote and had sealed for fifty years. The story line is fast-paced but belongs to the naive hero who believes medicine should use all tools including the only recently legalized autopsy. He is counterbalanced by the experienced pragmatic Osler, who wisely understands that medicine needs to judiciously use new legal techniques to avoid a backlash of indignation leading to losing their authority. The investigation is cleverly handled, but Lawrence Goldstone¿s superb thriller belongs to his physician cast. --- Harriet Klausner
KinseyW More than 1 year ago
The Anatomy of Deception by Lawrence Goldstone takes place in Philadelphia in 1889. The main character, Dr. Ephraim Carroll, works in the morgue with a group of doctors who performs autopsies. One day they receive a body of a young girl and the main doctor, William Osler, refuses to perform an autopsy on the girl. A few days later another mysterious death occurs. Ephraim Carroll must search to find out if or how these two deaths are related. Carroll plunges into this mystery without knowing if there is a killer out there and if he might be the next body on the autopsy table. I liked The Anatomy of Deception because it is an exciting mystery that always keeps you on the edge of your seat. When you finally think that you know what is going to happen next, a new twist comes into the story. The 19th century medical language is both interesting and accurate which gives you better knowledge of the time period. The setting is vivid and makes you feel like you are witnessing the action. I was hooked and could not put this book down.
reddragon More than 1 year ago
After reading The Alienist and Angel of Darkness, by Caleb Carr, I've been searching for books with that same turn of the century backdrop and medical/psychological detective theme. I thought this book might finally be the one...it was close. I would recomend this one because it is a pretty quick read, but still not as interesting or detailed as Carr. If anyone has other suggested reads, please let me know!
JackieJF More than 1 year ago
A very good story. It was not the page turner I had hoped for, but still interesting information about the late 1800s in Philly and entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Experience the life of a med student in the 1800's. Lots of good detail from the autopsy room to everyday life. This book was a great find and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Difficult to put down.
MarieHelene More than 1 year ago
Easy reading and fairly captivating story of how hospitals used to be run and the early days of patient care interwoven with murder, mystery and deceit involving historical characters.
letok More than 1 year ago
Very well written and researched. Excellent historical fiction with real life people incorporated into the novel. I am looking forward to reading other novels by Lawrence and Nanch Goldstone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago