Anatomy of the New Testament, 8th Edition

Anatomy of the New Testament, 8th Edition

Paperback(8th ed.)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Now in its 8th edition, Anatomy of the New Testament is one of the most trust-worthy and enduring introductory textbooks of its kind. Its authors bring literary and historical approaches to the New Testament together, offering a comprehensive and accessible approach that appeals to students at all levels. Visually appealing and well-designed this compact edition has been designed for today's student, and is illustrated with engaging images, refreshed maps, and updated bibliographies that make the textbook enjoyable to read and easy to teach.

The stand-out pedagogical features have been updated as well, updated for new advances in biblical scholarship and the needs of today's student: Have You Learned it? Offering questions for analysis and reflection; What Do They Mean? Presenting definitions for key terms to enhance student comprehension and critical thinking.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781506457116
Publisher: Augsburg Fortress, Publishers
Publication date: 05/14/2019
Edition description: 8th ed.
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 970,409
Product dimensions: 7.50(w) x 9.25(h) x 0.00(d)

About the Author

Robert A. Spivey is Professor Emeritus, Florida State University. D. Moody Smith is George Washington Ivey Professor Emeritus of New Testament at The Divinity School, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina.C. Clifton Black, the author of the Introduction, Commentary, and Reflections on the First, Second, and Third Letters of John, is Otto A. Piper Professor of Biblical Theology at Princeton Theological Seminary. His other works include The Disciples According to Mark: Markan Redaction in Current Debate and Mark: Images of an Apostolic Interpreter. He is also the co-editor of Exploring the Gospel of John in Honor of D. Moody Smith and a founding editor of the New Testament Library.

Table of Contents

List of Sidebars and Illustrations
Prologue: The Nature of the New Testament
1. The World of the New Testament
2. Introduction to the Gospels
3. Mark: The Gospel of Suffering
4. Matthew: The Gospel of Obedience
5. Luke: The Gospel of Witnessing
6. John: The Gospel of Jesus' Glory
7. Acts: Mission and Witness
8. Paul: Apostle to the Gentiles
9. Romans: The Righteousness of God
10. Deutero-Pauline Letters: The Emerging Church
11. The Catholic Epistles: Faith and Order
12. Other Apostolic Writings: Vision and Discipline
Epilogue: Jesus the Messiah
Glossary Name and Subject Index
Biblical Index

Customer Reviews