Anchored: Finding Hope in the Unexpected

Anchored: Finding Hope in the Unexpected

by Kayla Aimee


$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, March 28

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781433686108
Publisher: B&H Publishing Group
Publication date: 07/01/2015
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 859,076
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range: 3 Months to 18 Years

About the Author

Kayla Aimee is a writer, mother and slightly spirited southern girl who spends her days uncovering hope and humor in unexpected places. She makes her home and garden in northern Georgia with her husband, Jeff and daughter Scarlette. Kayla shares stories of faith, family and her favorite things at

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: What I Didn’t Expect When I Was Expecting
Chapter 2: A Time to Laugh and a Time to Cry
Chapter 3: Black Friday
Chapter 4: A Thrill of Hope
Chapter 5: Miracles and Motherhood
Chapter 6: Sweet Communion
Chapter 7: Bless Your Heart
Chapter 8: Flatline
Chapter 9: Separation Anxiety
Chapter 10: The Way It Broke Us
Chapter 11: Quarantine and The Heart of Homecoming
Chapter 12: The Scarlette Lettered Stories
Epilogue: All Creatures Of Our God and King

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Anchored: Finding Hope in the Unexpected 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
joyful334209 More than 1 year ago
Anchored Is an intense book on a subject that effects so many couples on a daily basis - it hurts in such a big way - what is it ? Not gonna tell you - you have to find out for yourself. It is a book of deep unending intense love that you didn't know you could have until this thing happens. The main character shows how strong she is when she takes one step at a time and relies on the LORD. I received a copy of this book from the Publisher and Netgalley; all of the opinions expressed in this review are all my own. if you would like to read more of my Christian book reviews go to
beauty23 More than 1 year ago
This is a story of hope, faith and of love. Kayla tells us of going from thinking her and barren Hannah are sisters to giving birth to a premature baby. Then God grants you the desires of your heart but you give birth to a premature child. Kayla gives us a personal raw and candid feelings. You experience the highs and lows of this families journey. From hospital visits Kayla lets us into her world to share the good, bad and ugly of raising a premature baby. “It may not have been the story I wanted, but if I were destined to be the bearer of it, then I wanted to honor it. I wanted to weave the suffering into the hope with my life and my words. I wanted to be a good steward of this story. God desire all of us to be good stewards of our story. This is a good read that you will definitely enjoy. I want to give someone the opportunity to read this book for free.
ObsessedwithBooks More than 1 year ago
It is hard to write this review as I have followed Kayla's blog for over seven years now. I knew most of Scarlette's journey from her fifteen weeks too soon feisty entrance to the sweet picture her mama posted of her with her grandfather for Father's Day. What I did not know was just how battered and broken and raw and alone {by her own choice} Kayla was during the one hundred and fifty six days that Scarlette was in the NICU. Anchored isn't just about the miraculous and sometimes surprising journey that Scarlette has made, or even about how Kayla felt as the mother of a micro-preemie; it's about how shattered and broken Kayla's once unwavering faith in a God she loved far more than great fitting jeans was and how she made it back from the brink of losing all of her faith. As someone who laughs at times about edited stories whose full details cannot be divulged due to Kayla's agreement with her husband about Things That Should Not Be Shared With The Internet, I was completely surprised at how transparent and vulnerable she was about her marriage and other struggles she had to face. I didn't need to read Kayla's blog or even this book to know how hard it is on a marriage to have a sick baby. My firstborn came into this world a little too soon and spent the first 24 days of his life fighting to survive. I was, however, shocked to learn that 97% of marriages//relationships end in divorce while making it through each day while your child lay fighting to survive in the NICU. Out of the ashes God has brought the beauty of Kayla's extremely strong and fully transformed faith to the forefront. That faith is evident in all that she does and says. That faith has paved the way for her to share her struggles and lay bare what she has been through and what it's like to come out the other side. You don't have to be a mother to read this book; in fact, I recommend it to anyone who is questioning their faith while dealing with something beyond their control and what it's like to be used by God to bring glory to Him. See, it's through Kayla's blog and her faith that I even know Him at all today. For that I am eternally grateful.
Fitzysmom More than 1 year ago
Isaiah 61:3 spells out the promise that we will receive beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, and the garment of praise for heaviness. In Anchored:Finding Hope in the Unexpected Kayla Aimee gives testimony to that. Kayla and her husband were thrilled to learn they were pregnant and looked forward to the birth with all the usual excitement and anticipation. But one day all that joy came crashing down. Their sweet girl Scarlette was born way too soon bringing the storybook tale to a screeching halt. The weeks and months that followed took a toll on her marriage, her pocketbook, and above all her faith. But God is faithful to His children. Through her infectious sense of humor Kayla brings you her family's journey to wholeness. Her momma's heart will resonate with other mommas whether you have had a similar situation or not. I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.
MelissaGH More than 1 year ago
This book is a honest, heart warming life story of a couple who want to have children and what happens when they do have a precious baby. Through their emotions along the way to becoming pregnant, staying pregnant and the joy of their precious Scarlette, the reader is able to relate to their sadness, grief, hope and joy. This story relates to anyone who has struggled with loss and then, found hope and joy in life. You will cry, laugh out loud and be uplifted with hope when reading this story. :-)
JViola79 More than 1 year ago
This book, much like motherhood itself, has made me laugh and moved me to tears. I had never heard of Kayla before yet through this book, she feels like a friend. Much like Kayla, I found myself becoming anchored in new found ways to my God. In and through this book, you will find encouragement and hope as Kayla unveils the truths: God’s strength is made perfect in our weakness. God’s grace truly is sufficient for all things. A wonderful & encouraging book which is sure to help any reader find hope during unexpected times.