Andy: Ellie's People, Book 6

Andy: Ellie's People, Book 6

by Mary Christner Borntrager

Paperback(New Edition,New edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, August 27


Andy Maust likes to write poems, and he’s not good at running or wrestling or any of the other activities that Amish boys enjoy. The other boys tease him mercilessly, and then Andy’s dog disappears in a mysterious way. Drifters are roaming the country on trains, looking for work and a hot meal, and Andy begins to imagine running away from his troubles. He decides to catch a train to somewhere—anywhere—where he can be himself. Will Andy find contentment and peace in his new life, or will God call the prodigal home?

Book 6 of the Ellie’s People: An Amish Family Saga series. Ages 10 and up.

The ten books of the Ellie’s People series, beloved classics among young and old readers in Amish and Mennonite communities, are now available for today’s reader. Author Mary Christner Borntrager grew up Amish and based her novels on events in her Amish childhood. Fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie series will love learning to know spunky Ellie and her friends and family.

What’s new in the Ellie’s People series:

  • Pennsylvania Dutch glossary at the end of each book
  • A sample chapter from the next book in the series
  • Language and examples updated for today’s readers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780836136333
Publisher: MennoMedia
Publication date: 10/28/2015
Series: Ellie's People
Edition description: New Edition,New edition
Pages: 176
Sales rank: 708,890
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.39(d)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

Mary Christner Borntrager was born to Amish parents near Plain City, Ohio. Her Ellie’s People series is based on her childhood and youth among the Amish. The books bring authentic Amish stories to life for readers interested in Amish fiction and also real depictions of Amish life. Her Ellie’s People novels have sold more than half a million copies and are treasured classics among the Amish and Mennonites.

Table of Contents

1. The Drifter

2. Smokehouse Home

3. Faraway Places

4. He's Gone!

5. Fish Rock Creek

6. The Agreement

7. An Extra Hand

8. Torn Britches

9. No Doghouse Yet!

10. Old Salty

11. Billy Goat Surprise

12. Horseshoe Cave

13. Snow Boots

14. One Bad Egg

15. A Good Trick

16. The Big News

17. Who’s to Blame?

18. What about Andy?

19. Life of a Rover

20. Hopping a Freight

21. Put Your Back to It!

22. The Prodigal Returns

23. No Greener Grass

24. The Road Back

25. The Answer

Pennsylvania Dutch Glossary

Andy’s Family Tree

Excerpt from Sarah

The Author

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“This authentic series has much to offer readers about the ups and downs of growing up plain. A great choice for a family read-aloud.” —Suzanne Woods Fisher, coauthor of The Adventures of Lily Lapp series

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews