Angels: Christmas with the Great Sopranos

Angels: Christmas with the Great Sopranos


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Angels: Christmas with the Great Sopranos

Celebrate Christmas with some of the most beautiful melodies written for the holidays and sung by the most gorgeous voices. With opera stars both past and present, from Leontyne Price and Joan Sutherland to Renée Fleming and Angela Gheorghiu, this generously filled CD includes everyone’s favorite songs, including “O Holy Night,” “Silent Night,” “Hark! The herald Angels Sing” and much more. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 10/14/2008
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947803379
catalogNumber: 001207202


  1. Cantique de Noël for voice & orchestra "O Holy Night"  (04:30)
  2. Ellens Gesang III ("Ave Maria"), song for voice & piano, D. 839 (Op. 52/6)  (04:22)
  3. Requiem, for 2 solo voices, chorus, organ & orchestra, Op. 48: Pie Jesu

    1. Pie Jesu  (03:49)
  4. Good King Wenceslas (Piae Cantiones, 1582)  (03:03)
  5. Stille Nacht, heilige Nacht (Silent Night)  (04:48)
  6. Wiegenlied ("Guten Abend, gut Nacht"), song for voice & piano, Op. 49/4  (01:37)
  7. Otello, opera: Ave Maria, piena di grazia

    1. Ave Maria, piena di grazia  (06:02)
  8. Vesperae solennes de confessore for soloists, chorus & orchestra, K. 339: Laudate Dominum

    1. Laudate Dominum  (04:58)
  9. Messiah, oratorio, HWV 56: I know that my Redeemer liveth

    1. I know that my Redeemer liveth  (05:28)
  10. Hark! the Herald Angels Sing (adapted by W. H. Cummings from Mendelssohn's Festgesang for the Gutenberg Festival)  (02:38)
  11. Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174): Jesus bleibet meine Freude

    1. Jesus bleibet meine Freude  (02:50)
  12. Samson, oratorio, HWV 57: Let the bright seraphim

    1. Let the bright seraphim  (05:58)
  13. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear  (02:51)
  14. Ave Maria, for voice & orchestra (adapted from Intermezzo of "Cavalleria Rusticana")  (03:22)
  15. O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste fidelis)  (03:15)
  16. Exsultate, jubilate, motet for soprano & orchestra, K. 165 (K. 158a): Alleluia

    1. Alleluia  (02:32)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews