Pub. Date:
Another Self Portrait (1969-1971): The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10

Another Self Portrait (1969-1971): The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10

by Bob DylanBob Dylan


$21.59 $23.99 Save 10% Current price is $21.59, Original price is $23.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 30


Another Self Portrait, the tenth volume in Bob Dylan's official bootleg series, assembles a slew of unreleased tracks, un-and over-dubbed alternate takes, and demos, mostly from 1970's Self Portrait and New Morning sessions -- they were recorded simultaneously and released within months of one another -- and other material. Dylan restlessly dug into the fakebook of folk, blues, and country tunes that nourished him from the beginning. The few original songs are minor ones. Twenty-six of these 35 selections were recorded between March and June. Dylan is in fine voice and he tries on many: some raspy, others crystal clear, all of them bold. The interconnected nature of these albums is revealed with the opening demo for "Went to See the Gypsy" (used on NM). It's just Dylan and guitarist David Bromberg. (Another take recorded three months later features just Dylan on electric piano.) There are two undubbed takes of "Little Sadie" at different tempos; two of "Time Passes Slowly" -- the first a basic folk-rock read, the latter an aggressive one with Al Kooper's B-3 swelling to a crescendo from the jump. Dylan and Bromberg, with Kooper on piano, deliver a haunted, undubbed "Days of 49." Many of the unreleased tunes are gems. "Pretty Saro" -- with Dylan in his cleanest Nashville Skyline croon displaying a real range -- and the vocal and piano read of "Spanish Is the Loving Tongue" are deeply moving love songs. "House Carpenter" is a high lonesome blues. The skeletal "Alberta #3" puts the versions from SP to shame. Eric Andersen's "Thirsty Boots" has Bromberg's spidery guitar weaving a separate lyric through Dylan's vocal. A demo of "When I Paint My Masterpiece" from 1971, contains slightly different (better) lyrics. The stripped-down "Copper Kettle" stands out when contrasted with its released version. Dylan was impatiently experimenting with arrangements on both records, particularly the latter, and some don't work. "If Not for You" features a violin instead of George Harrison's guitar. The unreleased "Working on a Guru" is almost a throwaway, but Harrison's blues-rock guitar playing smokes. The alternate "New Morning," with a brassy, Stax-style horn arrangement, is great, but the full orchestral overdub on "Sign on a Window" -- complete with harp -- fails, as does the spoken word with female gospel backing chorus on "If Dogs Run Free." Arguably, of the NM material, Dylan made the right choices for the finished album, which doesn't make what's here less interesting. The remainder of these tracks includes "Minstrel Boy," an unreleased Basement Tapes number, and two tunes from the Isle of Wight with the Band, some alternates of Nashville Skyline, and others from 1971. Another Self Portrait asks many questions, but there is one that hounds because it's unanswerable, especially in regard to its namesake: why did Dylan record all this material, in this way, and then release something entirely different? It doesn't matter. For fans, this is more than a curiosity, it's an indispensable addition to the catalog.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/27/2013
Label: Sony
UPC: 0888837348720
catalogNumber: 373487
Rank: 8252


Disc 1

  1. Went To See the Gypsy
  2. Little Sadie
  3. Pretty Saro
  4. Alberta #3
  5. Spanish is the Loving Tongue
  6. Annie's Going To Sing Her Song
  7. Time Passes Slowly #1
  8. Only a Hobo
  9. Minstrel Boy
  10. I Threw It All Away
  11. Railroad Bill
  12. Thirsty Boots
  13. This Evening So Soon
  14. These Hands
  15. In Search of Little Sadie
  16. House Carpenter
  17. All the Tired Horses

Disc 2

  1. If Not For You
  2. Wallflower
  3. Wigwam
  4. Days of '49
  5. Working On a Guru
  6. Country Pie
  7. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight [Li
  8. Highway 61 Revisited
  9. Copper Kettle
  10. Bring Me a Little Water
  11. Sign On the Window
  12. Tattle O'Day
  13. If Dogs Run Free
  14. New Morning
  15. Went To See the Gypsy
  16. Belle Isle
  17. Time Passes Slowly #2
  18. When I Paint My Masterpiece

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bob Dylan   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Electric Piano,Vocals
Norman Blake   Guitar
Happy Traum   Banjo,Background Vocals
David Bromberg   Dobro,Guitar
George Harrison   Guitar,Vocals
Kooper   Organ,Piano
Robbie Robertson   Guitar
Rick Danko   Bass,Vocals
Ben Keith   Steel Guitar
Ron Cornelius   Guitar
Kenny Buttrey   Drums
Charlie Daniels   Bass,Guitar
Hilda Harris   Background Vocals
Levon Helm   Drums,Vocals
Garth Hudson   Keyboards
Russ Kunkel   Drums
Richard Manuel   Piano,Vocals
Albertine Robinson   Background Vocals
Jeff Rosen   Compield
Bob Wilson   Piano
Stu Woods   Bass
Charlie McCoy   Bass
Kelton Herston   Guitar
Peter Drake   Steel Guitar
Maeretha Stewart   Background Vocals
Alvin Rogers   Drums

Technical Credits

Eric Andersen   Composer
Tom Paxton   Composer
Bob Dylan   Arranger,Composer,Cover Art
Kooper   Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Eddie Noack   Composer
Charles Calello   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Bob Johnston   Producer
Greil Marcus   Liner Notes
Geoff Gans   Art Direction
Michael Simmons   Liner Notes
Debbie Sweeney   Production Collaborator
Will Schwartz   Production Collaborator
Traditional   Composer
Diane Lapson   Production Collaborator
Callie Gladman   Production Collaborator
April Hayes   Production Collaborator
Albert F. Beddoe   Composer
Arie De Reus   Photo Courtesy

Customer Reviews