ISBN-10:
1529124778
ISBN-13:
9781529124774
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Anti-Social: The Secret Diary of an Anti-Social Behaviour Officer

Anti-Social: The Secret Diary of an Anti-Social Behaviour Officer

by Nick Pettigrew

Hardcover

$33.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 1 week

Overview

__________________________________
'Darkly comic ... think Adam Kay's This is Going to Hurt but with more dead bodies (and not just human ones) and an abundance of cat shit. It's a gloriously cynical read but it's also sympathetic and deeply empathetic.' KATHY BURKE

'Superb. This hysterically funny and moving memoir of an anti-social behaviour officer is a real eye-opener that hits all the right notes' FRANKIE BOYLE
__________________________________
Has your life become unbearable because the person living above you has a fondness for crack cocaine, the company of strangers and dance music? Or maybe you’re a social worker, mental health nurse, police officer, firefighter, dog warden or vicar and you’ve been landed with someone who’s a pain in the arse. Who are you going to call? That would be me: an anti-social behaviour officer.

Anti-Social is the diary of a council worker whose job is to keep his community happy, or at least away from each other’s throats. That’s hard enough at the best of times but when government cuts mean that hospitals, social services and police are all at breaking point, the possibility of complete chaos is never far away.

This is an urgent, timely but, most of all, hysterically funny true story of a life spent working with the people society wants to forget and the problems that nobody else can resolve. This book will make you laugh, cry and boil with rage within a single sentence.
__________________________________
Perfect for fans of The Secret Barrister and Adam Kay's This is Going to Hurt.
__________________________________
'A funny, thoughtful look into one of the toughest jobs I can imagine' SHAPPI KORSANDI

'Riveting and brilliantly written... a potent cocktail of heartbreak and horror; wickedly funny, wearily endearing and absolutely enraging' CAROLINE SANDERSON, Bookseller



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781529124774
Publisher: Penguin Random House UK
Publication date: 07/23/2020
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.67(w) x 8.74(h) x 1.38(d)

About the Author

Nick Pettigrew was an Anti-Social Behaviour Officer for over a decade. From bothersome neighbours with a fondness for crack cocaine and loud dance music to those being racially abused every day, Nick's job involved keeping the community happy. Or at least away from each other's throats.

He has a background in comedy and was a standup comedian for several years, taking two successful shows to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. His comedy writing has been published by Shortlist and The Telegraph. He was a regular writer for The Daily Mash for over eight years.

Customer Reviews