Any Other Night

Any Other Night

by Anne Pfeffer

Paperback

$9.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, February 25

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781477601969
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 06/25/2012
Pages: 260
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.59(d)

About the Author

Anne Pfeffer lives in Los Angeles, CA near a large rotating neon chicken head with her daughter and her dachshund, Taco.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Any Other Night 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
CompulsionReads More than 1 year ago
Ryan is a pretty typical teenager; he’s not sure what he wants to be when he grows up, he doesn’t work hard in school, his best friend is always getting into trouble and he has a huge crush on the young and beautiful Emily. He finally gets the courage to talk to Emily at her sweet sixteen birthday party when Michael, his BFF, shows up to the party drunk and high. Now, Ryan has to juggle his need to do right by his friend while still trying to make a move on Emily. While Ryan is chatting it up with his crush, Michael decides to drive himself home. Unfortunately, Michael never makes it. Any Other Night is a contemporary story that examines the challenges of being a teenager in today’s go-go-go world. Author Anne Pfeffer has done a lovely job of creating characters that feel naive and young in the beginning of the story and then shows their growth throughout the novel. I appreciated that none of the characters in this story were saints; they all had their flaws and challenges. Chrissie, the mother of Michael’s baby, was my favorite character. She is so well written that you can almost feel the southern sunshine shining on you in every scene and chapter that she is in. My biggest complaint about the book is that at times it feels a little like an after school special, but not in a cheesy way. If you don’t know about safe sex, just saying “no” to drugs and growing up with absentee parents then you’ll learn a lot from this book. Overall, this is a great book for fans of young adult and contemporary literature. I think that teenagers will really appreciate the book’s themes and find solace in the lessons that Ryan learns. (This book was provided to Compulsion Reads for review by the author.)
coziecorner More than 1 year ago
Anne pens "Any Other Night" a story about a boy coming of age and life's difficulties he endures. The plot flowed smoothly making it a nice easy read and Anne's characters were believable and easy to relate to. Actually I did not find the content to be offensive, but be warned there is language, non-explicit sexual activity and talk about drugs.  Recommended for older teens and adults. *5 star rating* This review is based on a complimentary copy which was provided for an honest review.
PrettyInFiction More than 1 year ago
Any Other Night by Anne Pfeffer is so much more than a love story. It's a story of first love, heartache, and guilt. Ryan has been in love with Emily ever since he saw her dog giving her big, wet puppy smooches in front of the school while he was waiting for a ride. As he says, “I would trust a dog's judgement. This girl had to be excellent.” {Any Other Night, Chapter 2} I knew right from that moment that I would enjoy this book. Who doesn't love a guy who develops a crush based on the girl's dog? That's seriously cute. Ryan broke my heart, while at the same time making me fall in love with him. After a tragic accident, he feels guilty for loving Emily, for wanting to talk to her. But it's his love for Emily and his own moral code (even if he doesn't realize it) that helps him overcome his grief and set him on a road of healing. Emily has that adorable girl-next-door kind of vibe to her. Sometimes in books told from a guy's point of view, the love interest can come off shallow. "She's so pretty" or "She's so perfect." But Emily doesn't come off that way. Emily is smart and cute and her relationship with Ryan actually brought tears to my eyes at times. She could get on my nerves on occasion (Give Ryan a break, girl!), but nothing that made me dislike her. Any Other Night was a roller coaster from start to finish, making me feel like an emotional mess. Right off the bat it drags you in with a terribly realistic turn of fate that sets off a chain of events that will leave you rooting for love to save the day. There are scenes containing sex and drugs in this novel, so it's not for the younger set, but it doesn't detract from the novel at all. I'd recommend this for readers who enjoyed books like Beautiful Disaster and Easy.
ReadingwithABC More than 1 year ago
This book was provided to me for free by the author for my review. You can get the gist of the plot by reading the synopsis. The story is told from Ryan’s point of view; I always enjoy when the male character has a strong voice in the story and Ryan was no exception. I really like Ryan’s character and even though he is a boy, it is very easy to identify with him and his angst and tribulations. Michael was more than Ryan’s best friend; he was like a brother, being raised almost together by the Mill’s housekeeper and his death leaves Ryan feeling guilty and responsible. At the same time Ryan’s relationship with Emily starts to develop into something real and new for both of them. Ryan is such a good person. He is really good with kids and almost acts as a father figure to his little sisters. He is also loyal and loving and tries to do best he can at everything he does. Emily is a very smart girl that brings out the best in Ryan. As a gentle warning I have to let you know that the book contains non-explicit sexual scenes and other sexual content, it also talks about drugs. Overall the characterization is well developed. We learn more about Michael from the times he is remembered by Ryan. Ro (the housekeeper) is a good influence for the kids and tries to do her best to fill in for their absentee parents. Chrissie is a riot and Jonathan is a good friend too. Ryan’s parents are not exactly bad people but they do have their priorities all messed up. The setting of the story is very interesting since it takes place in LA and at the heart of Hollywood royalty. This opulent lifestyle is what the stuff of dreams, but the Mill family has the same problems as other families do; lack of communication and time together as a unit. The plot is simple and well carried out. The pacing of the story is good and the writing flows very easily. Ms. Pfeffer is a great story teller; her writing in Any Other Night is bursting with felling and at the same time very funny and realistic. The ending was kind of open, as we don’t know what the future holds for Ryan and Emily. I think this story lends itself for a sequel (*hint*)
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
Another great contemporary that I have been itching to read, this is a really emotional book. What I enjoyed the most about this book is the plot. The what if questions that pop in the readers mind after a night of unsuspected activity. Laced with heavy emotions, this book has to do a lot with living with regret and paying for it. What do you do when you feel responsible for the secret left behind? The characters of the book do a lot of growing. Facing the turmoil that has gone on, Ryan blames himself a lot. He stretches himself the thin just trying to make up what is lost. I felt for Ryan. He is a nice guy who just wanted to make things right. Despite what happen, Ryan learned to understand that life happens. No matter who you are or what you do. No amount of asking questions or making things up will change that. There is a love interest as well as an enduring friendship that occurs with two different girls. Now, this was unexpected. Given that it was under another title, I thought the story would evolve around Emily. So not what happen. I think the new title is more fitting, given the fact that Emily, LOL, I didn't like much. At times, I felt like she was being selfish. If you ask me, she made things harder on Ryan. But, that is just me. Any Other Night is a book filled with a roller coaster of emotions. The expectation of reality catches up to the characters fast. Filled with a great friendship that anyone would love to have, Any Other Night is good!