Archimedis Opera Omnia: Volume 1

Archimedis Opera Omnia: Volume 1

by Archimedes


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, October 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Archimedis Opera Omnia: Volume 1 by Archimedes

Published in 1880-1, this three-volume edition of the extant works of the Greek mathematician Archimedes of Syracuse (c.287-c.212 BCE) was edited by the Danish philologist and historian Johan Ludvig Heiberg (1854-1928), whose Quaestiones Archimedeae (1879) is also reissued in this series. He later discovered a medieval palimpsest containing lost works by Archimedes, which significantly expanded the canon, but the present collection was produced long before this and therefore contains the works known at the time of publication. Heiberg consulted a Florentine codex, which he painstakingly compared with other sources to produce his edition. This first volume contains On the Sphere and the Cylinder (in two books), On the Measurement of a Circle and On Conoids and Spheroids. The texts are given in the original Greek with parallel Latin translation, notes and introductory material.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781108062558
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 04/18/2013
Series: Cambridge Library Collection - Classics Series
Pages: 516
Product dimensions: 5.51(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.14(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews