by Julian Lage


View All Available Formats & Editions


After releasing two albums in late 2014 -- the acoustic Avalon with Chris Eldridge and Room with Nels Cline -- Julian Lage returns a year and a half later with what is officially branded a solo LP, Arclight. He's joined by bassist Scott Colley and drummer Kenny Wollesen, both of whom would subsequently tour with the guitarist as the Julian Lage Trio. For a recording first, Lage exclusively plays the electric guitar on the set, which includes seven originals and four covers. Highlights from the originals include the atmospheric "Stop Go Start," which is most concerned with timbre, and "Prospero," an elegant rocker. Among the cover highlights is an inspired take on the Sammy Fain classic "I'll Be Seeing You," though the album is short on weak moments much less tracks, despite a variety of tempos and tones. Arclight was produced by Grammy winner Jesse Harris (Norah Jones, John Zorn).

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2016
Label: Mack Avenue
UPC: 0673203110724
catalogNumber: 1107

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Julian Lage   Primary Artist,Guitar
Scott Colley   Bass
Kenny Wollesen   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

Spike Hughes   Composer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Charlie Daniels   Composer
Sammy Fain   Composer
Irving Kahal   Composer
Gus Kahn   Composer
Pryor   Executive Vice President
Jesse Harris   Producer
Maria Ehrenreich   Producer
Willard Robison   Arranger
Julian Lage   Composer
Charlie Wagers   Art Direction
Ted Tuthill   Engineer
Gretchen Valade   Executive Producer
Ed McEntee   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews