Armless Maiden and Other Tales for Childhood's Survivors

Armless Maiden and Other Tales for Childhood's Survivors

Paperback

$10.51 $14.95 Save 30% Current price is $10.51, Original price is $14.95. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Armless Maiden and Other Tales for Childhood's Survivors by Terri Windling

The Armless Maiden is more than an extraordinary collection of original fiction and essays by many of fantasy's finest writers. A groundbreaking work in the tradition of Joseph Campbell, Bruno Bettelheim and Robert Bly, this book explores the darker side of childhood--loss, betrayal, oppression, and abuse.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780312862213
Publisher: Doherty, Tom Associates, LLC
Publication date: 09/03/1996
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.12(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.99(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Armless Maiden and Other Tales for Childhood's Survivors 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Mallie_kite More than 1 year ago
This collection of re-imagined traditional folk and fairy tales is harrowing, painful, even horrifying as the layers of sparkles and pixie dust are peeled back to expose truths. These stories tell us about the terrors of childhood and growing up -- the lies, the abandonments, the abuses -- using the symbols and motifs common to these very familiar stories. Intense and powerful. I cannot praise this collection highly enough, nor give sufficient warning to those who are easily triggered by such accounts -- the retelling of The Little Match Girl, perhaps my least favorite of the Hans Christian Anderson tales, stays with me still in this new version that turns the pathetic original on its head.