In 1608, Capt. John Smith navigated the waters of the Susquehanna River and named it “Smith’s Falles.” At that time, the surrounding land was occupied by the Susquehannock Indians, and after their departure, land grants were awarded to English colonists. These early settlers hewed timber from the dense forests for shelter and cultivated the land to grow crops of corn, wheat, and tobacco. The waterway served as a means of travel and as a source of food for these adventurers. They fished from the river and nearby streams and harnessed water power to operate their flint and grist mills.
About the Author
The Susquehanna River Valley, in Harford County, Maryland, still retains its rural beauty and rustic charm. The Susquehanna State Park and the Steppingstone Museum provide a recreational, educational, and historical experience for visitors. In Around Susquehanna State Park, Linda Noll, director of the Steppingstone Museum, invites readers to explore the past life of the Susquehanna River Valley through more than 200 vintage photographs.