by Pete Yorn


$12.79 $13.99 Save 9% Current price is $12.79, Original price is $13.99. You Save 9%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


Arriving after a six-year silence, ArrangingTime does seem like something of a rebirth for Pete Yorn: it finds the singer/songwriter re-teaming with his original producer R. Walt Vincent and debuting on a shiny new major label, Capitol. Yorn didn't quite disappear in the time since 2010's eponymous Black Francis-produced album -- he paired with J.D. King on the 2013 project the Olms -- but in a sense it seemed like he was wandering in the wilderness for even longer, never quite capitalizing on the promise he showed in the dawning days of the 21st century. On ArrangingTime, he doesn't seem anxious to recapture his puppy-dog optimism, nor does he seem bitter -- bruised, maybe, happy to slide into the smooth, slow electronic pulse that blankets the album. This manicured mellowness feels mature, a progression from a past that is nevertheless referenced: "In Your Head" recalls his original idol Ryan Adams and "Halifax" echoes "Black," yet there's little suggestion that Yorn is eager to recapture the mantle of the guitar-wielding troubadour so anxious to aspire to authenticity. Now a little bit older and wiser, Yorn feels settled in his skin, as happy to strum a song or sharpen a new wave hook ("Screaming at the Setting Sun") as he is to linger in pretty melancholy. On this record, Yorn seems to master mood more than tune, but that winds up being to his benefit. This tonal elasticity gives ArrangingTime an enveloping warmth, one that is alluring even if it tends to shift concentration away from the songwriting that allegedly was his greatest strength.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2016
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602547652751
catalogNumber: 002429802
Rank: 89963

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pete Yorn   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Electric Bass,Drums,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Electric Piano,Background Vocals,Voices,fender rhodes,keyboard bass,Guitar (Electroacoustic),Vocal Harmony,Guitar (Baritone)
Jeff Trott   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guitar (Tenor),Guitar (Baritone)
Marc Dauer   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Synthesizer Strings
Amir Yaghmai   Synthesizer
R. Walt Vincent   Synthesizer,Flute,Piano,Strings,Celeste,Cello,Cymbals,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Marimbas,Background Vocals,Hurdy-Gurdy,Mellotron,Pump Organ,Tubular Bells,Synthesizer Bass,Soloist,Hammond B3
Scott Seiver   Synthesizer,Percussion,Strings,Electric Bass,Drums,Electric Guitar,Tambourine,Mellotron,Vibes,Shaker,keyboard bass
Gabe Noel   Bass,Cello
Sunny Levine   Synthesizer

Technical Credits

Jeff Trott   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Marc Dauer   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jeff Tucker   Composer
Pete Yorn   Composer,Producer,drum machine
R. Walt Vincent   Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements,drum programming
Scott Seiver   Producer,Engineer
Darren Geare   Composer
Sunny Levine   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Dennis Stainken   Marketing
Kevin Yorn   Back Cover Photo

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews