The Art of Survival

The Art of Survival

by A. E. Maxwell

Hardcover(1st ed)

$16.90 $17.95 Save 6% Current price is $16.9, Original price is $17.95. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


"The story is unnerving, mesmerizing, and, when relief from fierce tensions is required, blessedly funny."—Publishers Weekly

"Maxwell's work is engaging and wonderfully articulated."—Robert B. Parker

Fiddler takes to the road to forget his ex-wife and sometimes lover Fiora and lands in Santa Fe, where a visit to a local art gallery implicates the private investigator in a mess of trouble.

A. E. Maxwell is the pseudonym of husband-and-wife writing team Ann and Evan Maxwell. Ann is now best known as best-selling suspense novelist Elizabeth Lowell.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385248464
Publisher: The Doubleday Religious Publishing Group
Publication date: 06/01/1989
Series: Fiddler and Fiora Series
Edition description: 1st ed
Pages: 264

About the Author

Individually and with co-author/husband Evan, Ann Maxwell has written over 60 novels and one non-fiction book. There are 30 million copies of these books in print, as well as reprints in 30 foreign languages. The novels range from science fiction to historical fiction, from romance to mystery to suspense.

Writing as Ann Maxwell, she began her career in 1975 with a science fiction novel, Change. Since then, seven of her nine science fiction novels have been recommended for the Science Fiction Writers of America Nebula Award; A Dead God Dancing was nominated for what was then called TABA (The American Book Award).

In 1976 Ann and Evan (as A. E. Maxwell) collaborated with a Norwegian hunter and photographer, Ivar Ruud, on The Year-Long Day, a non-fiction work that was condensed in Reader’s Digest and published in four foreign editions and three book club editions. In 1985, the first A. E. Maxwell crime novel featuring a couple called Fiddler and Fiora was published by Doubleday. The Frog and the Scorpion, received a creative writing award from the University of California. The fourth book in the series, Just Enough Light to Kill, was named by Time magazine as one of the best crime novels of 1988.

Ann and Evan (writing as Ann Maxwell) have published four suspense novels, the most recent of which is Shadows and Silk. These novels appeared on nation-wide bestseller lists.

In 1982, Ann began publishing romances as Elizabeth Lowell. Under that name she has received numerous professional awards in the romance field, including a Lifetime Achievement award from the Romance Writers of America (1994). Since July of 1992, she has had more than thirty novels on the New York Times list. Her most recent book is Death Echo. Visit her online at

Date of Birth:

April 5, 1944

Place of Birth:

Milwaukee, Wisconsin


B. A., University of California, 1966

Table of Contents

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews