Artemisia: a Regency Novel in the Tradition of Jane Austen

Artemisia: a Regency Novel in the Tradition of Jane Austen

by DG Rampton

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Artemisia: a Regency Novel in the Tradition of Jane Austen by DG Rampton

"You forget yourself, your lordship. You have no rights to allow or disallow anything I may choose to do. You have, in fact, no claim over me whatsoever – a circumstance for which I thank the Lord on a daily basis! I am neither your ward nor your dependent, and I will not allow you to talk to me in that odiously overbearing fashion!"
High-spirited Artemisia Grantley, niece of the Duke of Wentworth, has never made any attempt to conform to the feminine ideal expected of a lady of quality, nor has she ever had the benefit of an unfavourable opinion formed against her. But when the Marquess of Chysm enters her life, it seems to her that his lordship is always at hand to witness her shortcomings and bring them to her attention, inciting her temper and leaving her flustered.

As she reluctantly embarks upon her first London Season, a scandalous family secret and a conspiracy that stretches all the way to Napoleonic France threaten to entangle her with the one person she could happily throttle.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940045447560
Publisher: DG Rampton
Publication date: 11/12/2013
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 1,150,504
File size: 545 KB

About the Author

D.G. Rampton | Bestselling author of humorous Regency romance in the tradition of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer | I have always been a creative creature at heart, with a passion for storytelling in all its forms. But by some mischievous twist of fate I found myself studying engineering (the driest and most analytical of subjects!) and followed that up by working in the construction industry for ten years. What possessed me, you might well ask! Eventually, the call of my creative inclinations proved too demanding and I finally succumbed and started to write. From my early years, I was drawn to the wit and eloquence of Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and Oscar Wilde, so it was only natural that I would gravitate towards the Regency romance genre. But not the sex-fuelled kind that could make you blush in an empty room with the lights off. I prefer old-fashioned subtlety that delivers a good dose of passion but still allows the reader's powerful imagination to fill in the gaps and make the characters their own. I also like to keep the story light-hearted - the proverbial rose coloured spectacles are kept firmly in place! 'Artemisia' is my first novel and I have been utterly surprised at the success it has enjoyed. When you start to write simply for the love of writing in a way that speaks to you, without considering if the end product will make money, you have few expectations of success and only hope that there is someone out there who shares your tastes. Well, it seems I'm not the only old-fashioned romantic out there who likes her heroes Alpha and her heroines feisty! If it wasn't for the wonderful reviews I have received from my readers, I might never have started working on my second Regency Romance (fingers crossed, due in March 2017), so a big thank you to anyone who has left me a positive review. If you are interested in learning more about me or my creative projects, here are my social media sites to visit: Website: http://DGRampton.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DGRampton Twitter: https://twitter.com/DGRampton Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/dgrampton Youtube For The Love of Jane Austen Channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC94Dac9TTUT3vEHX7OaRA1Q/feed

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Artemisia: a Regency novel in the tradition of Jane Austen 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a well-written and, most importantly, fun book! I loved the heroine, Artemisia and her feisty, intelligent character...and the love-hate relationship between her and the hero, Lord Chysm, is so romantic. There is a great deal of historical detail imbedded in the story so you feel immersed in the Regency period. And all the main characters have a wonderful depth to them. I becameattached to them all! If I had to say one negative point, it would be that rather than the cover saying "a novel in the tradition of Jane Austen" it would be more accurate to say "in the tradition of Georgette Heyer". Personally, I  found Ms Heyer's influence more prominent than Ms Austen's, but this author clearly has used both for inspiration...and has done a brilliant job. I highly recommend this bookto Regency lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Great main and supporting characters. It was well written and witty. The funniest part in the book is when the despicable Lord Greyanne gets Artemisia alone in the art gallery and he is showing her his paintings of all his ancestors. (Excerpt from the book) Artemesia: She felt a certain satisfaction to learn that not one of them had survived into his fifties. It was to be hoped their descendant would shortly follow suit. But not even her optimism could lead her to suppose that Lord Greyanne would be so accommodating as to turn up his toes in the next few minutes. Literally laughed out loud when i read that scene. Cant wait for more books by this author.:)