Artist Portrait: Maxim Vengerov

Artist Portrait: Maxim Vengerov

by Maxim Vengerov


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, October 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Artist Portrait: Maxim Vengerov

This disc, called Artist Portrait: Maxim Vengerov, shows a deeply expressive, powerfully muscular young violinist at the first peak of his career. Vengerov is tender with the Andantino from Prokofiev's "Concerto No. 1," brutal with the "Burlesque" from Shostakovich's "Concerto No. 1," sensual in the "Introduction et Rondo Capriccioso" of Saint-Saëns, sentimental in the Finale from Bruch's "Concerto No. 1," soulful in the Andante of Mendelssohn's "Concerto," robust in the "Praeludium" of Nielsen's "Concerto," and vivacious in the Finale from Tchaikovsky's "Concerto." If Vengerov's Rondo from Beethoven's "Spring Sonata" is a little too rough for the music and his Allegro from Brahms' "Sonata No. 3" is a little too violent, well, Vengerov is still only at the first peak of his career. It will be interesting to see how he handles these works in 25 years. Erato's sound is brisk and efficient.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/16/2004
Label: Teldec
UPC: 0809274817624
catalogNumber: 48176
Rank: 301207


  1. Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor, Op. 26: Finale, Allegro energico
  2. Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64: Andante
  3. Sonata for violin & piano No. 5 in F major ("Spring"), Op. 24: Rondo, Allegro ma non troppo
  4. Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso, for violin & orchestra in A minor, Op. 28
  5. Sonata for Violin & Piano No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108: Allegro
  6. Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19: Andantino
  7. Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 77 (published as Op. 99): Burlesque, Allegro con brio
  8. Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35: Finale, Allegro vivacissimo
  9. Violin concerto, Op. 33 (FS 61): Praeludium, Largo
  10. La Ronde des Lutins, scherzo fantastique for violin & piano, Op 25

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews