Artistry 3

Artistry 3

by John SheridanJohn Sheridan


$25.64 $26.99 Save 5% Current price is $25.64, Original price is $26.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5


There's something refreshing about the way a piano trio can bring a simple, straightforward beauty to even familiar tunes. Pianist John Sheridan is joined by bassist Dave Stone and drummer Tony DeNicola on Artistry 3 for an even dozen pieces from the classic songbook. With an exception or two, however, the music chosen isn't overly familiar, giving the album a nice combination of recognizable style (mainstream jazz) and fresh material. As with many piano trios, the success here depends on the interplay among the performers. Sheridan's light touch provides a high-key contrast to Stone's heavy-in-the mix bassline, and this balance works very well on "I'm Glad There Is You" and Cole Porter's "Ev'rything I Love." DeNicola uses brushes for the light touch on the former piece, perfectly complementing the mood of his partners. While this group really stands out on a piece like "Poor Butterfly," the musicians also offer fun versions of upbeat material like "It's Been So Long" and "I'll Always Be in Love With You." The most ambitious effort here is the medium-tempo "Changing Partners," an Irving Berlin composition that the trio develops for eight minutes. For anyone fond of classic piano trios, the John Sheridan Trio adds a fresh sheen to a great set list.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/03/2004
Label: Arbors Records
UPC: 0780941127829
catalogNumber: 19278
Rank: 157461


  1. It's Been So Long
  2. I'm Glad There Is You
  3. Soon
  4. Wonder Why
  5. Ev'rything I Love
  6. Change Partners
  7. The Folks Who Live on the Hill
  8. I'll Always Be in Love With You
  9. Poor Butterfly
  10. I Never Knew (I Could Love Anybody Half as Much as I Love You)
  11. No Love, No Nothin'
  12. Let's Get Away from It All

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Sheridan   Primary Artist,Piano
Dave Stone   Bass
Tony DeNicola   Drums

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Irving Berlin   Composer
Matt Dennis   Composer
Jerome Kern   Composer
Walter Donaldson   Composer
Jimmy Dorsey   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Bud Green   Composer
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Sammy Kahn   Composer
Cole Porter   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Harry Ruby   Composer
Sam H. Stept   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Philip Elwood   Liner Notes
John Sheridan   Producer
Mat Domber   Executive Producer
Rachel Domber   Executive Producer
Roy Marsh   Composer
Harold Adamson   Composer
Tom Adair   Composer
Paul Madeira   Composer
Raymond B. Egan   Composer
Bryan Shaw   Engineer
Dave Hyman   Cover Design
John Golden   Composer
Raymond Hubbell   Composer

Customer Reviews