As She Ascends

As She Ascends

by Jodi Meadows


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30


“A fiercely imagined world!” —Mary E. Pearson, New York Times bestselling author of the Remnant Chronicles

From the New York Times bestselling co-author of My Plain Jane comes the second book in a smoldering fantasy trilogy about a girl who must embrace her latent power or lose the dragons she loves. Perfect for fans of Julie Kagawa and Kendare Blake.

Mira the Dragonhearted is on the run with her friends following a fiery escape from the prison where she’d been condemned for speaking out against dragon trafficking.

And she wants answers. Has the treaty she’s been defending her whole life truly sold out the Fallen Isles to their enemies? Did her own parents lie to her? Will she lose control of her power and hurt the ones she loves?

The only way to find the truth is to go home again, to face the people who betrayed her and the parents she’s not sure she can trust. Home, where she must learn to rise above her fears. Or be consumed.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062469434
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/11/2018
Series: Fallen Isles Series , #2
Pages: 560
Sales rank: 124,070
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.90(d)
Age Range: 13 Years

About the Author

Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the Incarnate trilogy, the Orphan Queen duology, and the Fallen Isles trilogy and coauthor of the New York Times bestseller My Lady Jane. Visit her at

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

As She Ascends 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
wmemes More than 1 year ago
Within the first few chapters of reading 'As She Ascends' I knew I'd enjoy this book more than the first. Mira's character growth is reflected in the journey from Book 1, 'Before She Ignites' to Book 2. Her past life and its stifling of her character are shown via the oppression in The Pit in Book 1. After escaping The Pit she and her companions are on the run in the wide open world. Their journey gives us a glimpse into the back stories for various characters, but my favourite chapters are those that solely focuses on Aaru's POV and his past. We also get far more interaction with the dragons that Mira loves so much. The major question is: can they uncover the truth behind The Mira Treaty and save the dragons? If you found the pace of the first book to be slow and weren't sure if you wanted to read this one, I really hope you give it a chance. The pace picks up, the fantastic interactions between the characters, the character growth, and plot in 'As She Ascends' will reel you in.
BooksAndPrejudice More than 1 year ago
We start off immediately after the end of Before She Ignites. The gang has escaped from the Pit, Altan on their heals. Mira has discovered her new and explosive power, and the dragons are being taken away. Can I just say that I love how Jodi handles cliffhangers? If you don't know what I mean, I urge you to read her Orphan Queen duology. But this one was entirely different. While I absolutely needed to know what would happen next, I wasn't cursing the author for leaving me hanging for a year. So at least there was that. And then we have the world. While we learn a lot about the different Fallen Isles in Before She Ignites, we get to see even more. There's more of Khulan to be discovered, and there are other islands explored that we didn't see in the first book. Not to mention Idris and Aaru's POV. I mean, hello! We get Aaru's POV! Which I was completely stoked for, and it definitely lived up to the hype. Mira and her friends have an awesome squad going, and it's clear to see that even though they fight, they all need each other. And things are likely to get very sticky for them in the final book. One of my favorite things about As She Ascends was just how much character growth Mira had. At the beginning of Before She Ignites, she's easily manipulated. Complicit in whatever the Luminary Counsel asks of her. By the end she's fighting. But it's during As She Ascends that she truly learns exactly what she's fighting for and how to go about it. Instead of going on first instinct, she needs to learn more about each and every situation. Plus the dragons. There's lots more dragons. LaLa and Crystal are still around. Plus let's not forget Lex and Kelsine from Before She Ignites. There are new dragons we haven't met, and old dragons we have. So many dragons! We end with another intense cliffhanger as things have taken a turn for the worst. It will leave you needing the sequel immediately. Overall I honestly think I liked this better than the first book, which is always tough since second books tend to fall flat. But it was everything I could have hoped for. I loved it, and I cannot wait for more!
diamondxgirl More than 1 year ago
So you read Before She Ignites and immediately thought - MORE DRAGONS - right? Right. Well, Jodi Meadows DELIVERED in As She Ascends. There are dragons, dragons, and even more dragons. And, dang it, now I really want a pocket dragon! In all seriousness, As She Ascends is a second book in the series that takes an incredible first book and turns it up 10 notches. What I love about The Fallen Isles triology is how clearly defined the titles are in light of the story development. Before She Ignites is a look at Mira as she’s slowly learning more about her world and the people she trusted most. As She Ascends is Mira taking matters into her own hands and saving the freaking dragons. Mira has an excellent grasp on her perception of the established order, ethics, and morals in her close world. As She Ascends takes the world she thought she knew and turns the stone over on corruption and oppression. If you can’t draw the parallels with Mira’s world and our own, get yourself a book club and have a discussion. Alongside Mira’s journey, we also get Aaru backstory chapters. SAY IT A LITTLE LOUDER FOR THE PEOPLE IN THE BACK. I think all the Before She Ignites fans were dying to get their hands on how Aaru landed in the cell next to Mira; this gentle silent man can’t possibly have a horrific past right? I am not sure how Jodi manages to give each character their own narrative but the entire crew gets their own piece of the puzzle here, including the dragons. Just enough so that when she does something horrifying to them, you feel it deep in your soul. As She Ascends takes us deeper into the world of the islands, including social rules, spirituality, and their history. We also get to see more about the divide between the islands and the mainland. Mira is back, ready to take on her oppressors, even if they are her own parents. Her motives are clear - save the dragons, keep the people she lives safe, and learn who she is along the way.