by Six Organs of Admittance


$16.72 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.72, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 1?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.



Following the muted, pastoral Americana of 2010's Asleep on the Floodplain, the ever-shifting Six Organs of Admittance took another abrupt turn on Ascent, with the band's only mainstay, Ben Chasney, pulling out some of his more heroic guitar moves for an album of sprawling full electric band exploration. The album is very much in the rock tradition with Chasney indulging in raging guitar solos over equally pummeling tunes that fall between extended blues-rock jams and spaced-out psychedelia. Following "Waswasa," a relentless and jagged instrumental that opens the album, the band breaks into "Close to the Sky" with a rumbling midtempo bassline and a sprawling desert-invoking landscape reminiscent of the Doors at their trippiest, pushed even further in that druggy direction by Chasney's warbling vocals, sounding beamed in from a distant planet. "They Called You Near" is a haunted raga, with characteristic SOOA guitar drones and various textures fading in and out of chant-like multi-tracked vocals. This unsettling tension eventually breaks into a riled-up celebration of high-speed, Eastern-flavored woodsy folk sounds, complete with romping drums, distant woodwinds, and acoustic guitars competing with the oddly matched fuzz bass. While the album skitters around stylistically, Chasney is joined by every last one of his Comets on Fire bandmates, making the similarities between Ascent and the trademark epic howling of Comets on Fire hard to miss. However, Ascent isn't a complete free-for-all jam by any means. Chasney reins in the electric insanity on the gentle acoustic deep-space love story "Your Ghost," and mellow album-closer "Visions (From Io)" glows with all the subdued power of early-'90s indie rock slow-burners like Yo La Tengo or Seam, but steeped in the spectral, spacy feel that permeates the entire album. Aided by the incredibly controlled spazzout of Noel von Harmonson's brigade of guitar tones and Utrillo Kushner's beautifully brutal drumming, however, the songs here that rock out take no prisoners and leave a trail of psychedelic ashes in their wake, smoldering like a million used-up sticks of incense. While it sounds less like a single-minded effort from Chasney than it does a high-spirited collective freakout from a reconfigured Comets on Fire, Chasney is still at the core of all the songs, transmitting his freaky visions in the guise of one face-melting power jam after another.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/21/2012
Label: Drag City
UPC: 0781484051923
catalogNumber: 519
Rank: 104009

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Six Organs of Admittance   Primary Artist
Ben Chasny   Guitar,Vocals
Ethan Miller   Organ,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar
Ben Flashman   Guitar,Bass Guitar,Vocals
Utrillo Kushner   Guitar,Piano,Drums,Vocals,Bells
Noel von Harmonson   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Tim Green   Guitar

Technical Credits

Dan Osborn   Layout
Ben Chasny   Composer,Producer
Ethan Miller   Composer
Ben Flashman   Composer
Utrillo Kushner   Composer
Noel von Harmonson   Composer
Becca Mann   Cover Painting
Tim Green   Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews