Ask Me How I Got Here

Ask Me How I Got Here

by Christine Heppermann

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Overview

How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Apples comes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins will find the powerful questions, the difficult truths, and the inner strength that speak to them in Ask Me How I Got Here.

Addie has always known what she was running toward, whether in cross country, in her all-girls Catholic school, or in love. Until she and her boyfriend—her sensitive, good-guy boyfriend—are careless one night, and she gets pregnant. Addie makes the difficult choice to have an abortion. And after that—even though she knows it was the right decision for her—nothing is the same. She doesn’t want anyone besides her parents and her boyfriend to know what happened; she doesn’t want to run cross country anymore; she can’t bring herself to be excited about anything. Until she reconnects with Juliana, a former teammate who’s going through her own dark places. Once again, Christine Heppermann writes with an unflinching honesty and a deep sensitivity about the complexities of being a teenager, being a woman. Her free verse poems are moving, provocative, and often full of wry humor and a sharp wit.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062387950
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/03/2016
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 333,274
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Christine Heppermann is the author of Poisoned Apples: Poems for You, My Pretty, which received five starred reviews and was named to five best of the year lists in 2014, and Ask Me How I Got Here. She lives with her husband and two daughters in Highland, New York.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ask Me How I Got Here 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
This was interesting. Sad but I did like the writing style.
Andrea Sanchez More than 1 year ago
Ask Me How I Got Here, by Christine Heppermann is about the protagonist, Addie had an unplanned pregnancy. Everything from her point of view goes downhill. This story doesn't necessarily help girls with unplanned pregnancies but gives them the chance to see this from a different perspective. Heppermann was named the 5 best year list in 2014. This story connects to a tv show, Jane The Virgin as in both they are to deal with unexpected pregnancies.    The settings in this story were very limited. They took place at the Immaculate Heart Academy, an all-girls school on which Addie attends with her best friend, Clair and an old close friend who's graduated, Juliana. It was Addie's sophomore year. Java Joe's is a Café were Juliana and Addie go to. This is told from 1st person. There are 5 bigger characters, Addie, Juliana, Clair, Nick. Plots in the story are, Addie gets a new boyfriend, Nick. Addie gets pregnant and is confused about her feelings and she feels alone.    When connected to the show, Jane The Virgin and how they both relate to dealing with unplanned pregnancies and figuring out their feelings. I can draw the theme of change and sacrifice. For example Addie is sacrificing the time she spends having fun, thinking about the baby. Change is what's happening in Addie's head about the way she feels.    In the end I rate this story a 5 out of 5 stars. I like that it gives off the message that no one should feel alone and you should always know what you're getting into especially as you start maturing. I recommend this book to who have had an unplanned pregnancy as well as young adults in general.
tammienguyen More than 1 year ago
Hi! I happened to do a review of this book on my YouTube Channel; please check it out + like/subscribe if you want! I'd appreciate it :) Here's the link to my video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gf_NQXbwf64&list=PLWoQUT7m9DukhZ_5pEj6fanu6x1vIcPKd
DahlELama More than 1 year ago
Yet more proof I like novels in verse way more than I always think I do. Religion and reproductive rights and sexuality - oh my! All my favorite things.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars Source: earc from Harper Teen via Edelweiss Disclaimer: I received this book as an ARC (advanced review copy). I am not paid for this review, and my opinions in this review are mine, and are not effected by the book being free. I wanted read this because I'm drawn to the emotional stories especially ones that deal with teen pregnancy. However going and I had no idea that it was actually written in poems. honestly I usually avoid books like this because for some reason it's harder for me to connect with the main character. and the more poetic and lyrical writing sometimes doesn't get through to me but for some reason I just wanted to read a little bit of this one to see how it went and I found myself finishing. It's pretty short and I read it all in one sitting. I was able to really connect with the main character and understand what she was going through. the writing was in prose of course but something about her voice the way that she had this dark humor and this concise way of summing up what she's feeling I just kept reading. It not only dealt with the pregnancy and her decision to have an abortion but also about her love of running and how she gave that up for a while because it just didn't feel the same afterwards. it also dealt with friendship there's the girl that's been in your life and run with her and then there's another one that also quit running and was dealing with her own stuff. it was also the musical and lyric aspect of it her boyfriend she was in a band and liked for her to write stuff for them. family was also present in this one her parents were disappointed of course but they were there for her and they took the news in stride and they tried to make her feel better Bottom Line: Short but emotional story written in poems focused on life before and after an abortion.