Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music

Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music

by HawkwindHawkwind

CD(Expanded / Remastered / Bonus Tracks / Reissue)

$21.88 $22.99 Save 5% Current price is $21.88, Original price is $22.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Hawkwind was at a difficult transitional point in 1976 when the band recorded Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music. Bassist Lemmy Kilmister had been fired after a drug bust the year before, and the band had been forced to scramble for a replacement, eventually hiring ex-Pink Fairies member Paul Rudolph. What's more, the band had just released a series of successful, landmark proto-heavy metal albums with Kilmister, and the pressure to follow them up was sizable. It was fairly predictable, then, that Astounding Sounds was significantly lighter and less focused than previous records. Unfortunately, that also meant it was less interesting as well. Most of the album consists of moderately forceful hard rock, dense by most standards but nowhere near as corrosive as earlier Hawkwind albums. "Kerb Crawler," frontman Dave Brock's ode to his car, is a rollicking party tune, and the closing instrumental, "Chronoglide Skyway," is a lush, beautiful epic, but these are the only standouts. The remaining tracks are pleasant enough, but tend to blend into one another. Lyrically, the album is far quirkier, thanks to wordsmith Bob Calvert's idiosyncrasies. Whether saluting a certain cash crop in "Reefer Madness" or claiming to be a werewolf in "Steppenwolf," Calvert tries hard to keep the album alive. Unfortunately, the music lacks the necessary punch to make these songs more than mildly amusing. Astounding Sounds is a nice complement to the early, groundbreaking Hawkwind oeuvre, but it's not essential.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/03/2009
Label: Atomhenge
UPC: 5013929630529
catalogNumber: 1005
Rank: 70487


  1. Reefer Madness
  2. Steppenwolf
  3. City of Lagoons
  4. The Aubergine That Ate Rangoon
  5. Kerb Crawler
  6. Kadu Flyer
  7. Chronoglide Skyway
  8. Honky Dorky
  9. Kerb Crawler
  10. Back on the Streets
  11. The Dream of Isis

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hawkwind   Primary Artist,Interviewee
Robert Calvert   Vocals
Simon King   Interviewee

Technical Credits

Hawkwind   Producer
Dave Brock   Composer,Author
Robert Calvert   Author
Mick Farren   Liner Notes
Mark Dearnley   Engineer
Simon House   Composer
Alan Powell   Composer
Paul Rudolph   Composer
Nik Turner   Composer
Dave Roberts   Reissue Assistant
Phil Smee   CD Package Design
Barney Bubbles   Original Cover Artwork
Mark Powell   Liner Notes
Ian Abrahams   Reissue Assistant
Gary Cooper   Interviewer
Trevor Hughes   Reissue Assistant
Tony Hyde   Original Cover Artwork
Alasdair Moodie   Reissue Assistant
Needletime   Interviewer

Customer Reviews