Pub. Date:


by Travis ScottTravis Scott


$15.61 $16.99 Save 8% Current price is $15.61, Original price is $16.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


Travis Scott sees Astroworld as the real follow-up to Rodeo, having alluded to the recording of Birds in the Trap Sing Brian McKnight as rushed. The Quavo collaboration Huncho Jack, Jack Huncho and appearances on SZA's "Love Galore," Drake's "Portland," and 2 Chainz' "4 AM," among a slew of other tracks, also preceded this third official solo studio full-length, heralded by the single "Watch," conspicuously absent given its direct reference to the demolished Houston attraction the album is titled after. Astroworld undoubtedly feels more like a spectacle than Birds in the Trap did. The sprawling theme park concept, however loose, is a cunning way to rationalize the tactically hospitable variety of producers and featured artists, which numbers somewhere around 50 -- a large supporting cast, even by Scott's standard. A long line of unsurprising guests like the Weeknd, Frank Ocean, and Swae Lee are thrown into play with Stevie Wonder, Philip Bailey, and John Mayer, the latter class of which seems like a bid for Grammy appeal. The beats, contributed by over 30 figures, are neatly sewn together by co-executive producer Mike Dean, who eases the twists and turns taken by the all the slinking rhythms and whirling atmospheres. Scott's voice slithers through the murk, rapping and singing in graphic-as-ever detail about his lifestyle of narcotics, air travel, hotels, and trysts, energized most when boasting about fans "stage divin' out the nosebleeds" and urging all to "fuck the club up." He's clearly not bothered by indulging in thrills reflective of the album's title. The modulation and echo treatments on the vocals, combined with the frequently torpid tempos, nonetheless make Astroworld ideal for being pumped through an (18 and over) amusement park's sound system near closing time, when the challenge of hitting all the rides has started to turn into an overindulgent, overheated chore. Beyond potent highlights "Butterfly Effect," "Sicko Mode," and a levitating tribute to hip-hop pioneer and Houston legend DJ Screw, there's a pair of Scott's most moving and personal cuts in "Coffee Bean" and "Astrothunder." The former, the finale, deviates from the rest of the album with a gently knocking Nineteen85 beat and Scott sounding positively Guru-like as he laments, "Fighting over your seeds, writing over your deeds, sliding over your keys."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/12/2018
Label: Epic
UPC: 0190758883625
catalogNumber: 588836
Rank: 5151


  4. R.I.P Screw
  8. WAKE UP
  9. 5% TINT
  10. NC-17
  13. CAN'T SAY
  14. WHO? WHAT!

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Travis Scott   Primary Artist,Vocals
Mike Dean   Guitar,Keyboards,Sounds
Stevie Wonder   Harmonica
John Mayer   Guitar
Big Hawk   Vocals
Drake   Vocals
Gunna   Vocals
Tame Impala   Vocals
Stephen Feigenbaum   Strings
Frank Dukes   Sounds
James Blake   Vocals
Frank Ocean   Vocals
Weeknd   Vocals
Nineteen85   Bass
Swae Lee   Vocals
Quavo   Vocals
Isaiah Gage   Cello
NAV   Vocals
Takeoff   Vocals
Tim Suby   Guitar
Sheck Wes   Vocals
Juice WRLD   Vocals
Don Toliver   Vocals
Misrad Dirvic   Sounds

Technical Credits

Luther Campbell   Composer
Adam Horovitz   Composer
Harry Wayne "K.C." Casey   Composer
Mike Dean   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation,Additional Production
Keith Elam   Composer
Richard Finch   Composer
Cameron Gipp   Composer
James Litherland   Composer
Christopher Martin   Composer
Ali Shaheed Muhammad   Composer
Oz   Producer
Robert Phillips   Composer
Rick Rubin   Composer
Tyrone Taylor   Composer
David LaChapelle   Art Direction
Bryan Simmons   Composer
Björk Gudmundsdottir   Composer
Pharrell Williams   Composer
Malik Taylor   Composer
Paul Beauregard   Composer
Fredro Scruggs   Composer
Sigurjon Sigurdsson   Composer
Ricky Dunigan   Composer
Kamaal Fareed   Composer
Kanye West   Composer
Jordan Houston   Composer
Christopher Wallace   Composer
Patrick "Sleepy" Brown   Composer
James Jackson   Composer
John Mayer   Composer,Producer
Chris E. Martin   Composer
Rico Wade   Composer
Ray Murray   Composer
T.I.   Executive Producer
Jimmy Cash   Engineer
Adam Yauch   Composer
Turbo   Producer
Jason Geter   Executive Producer
Willie Knighton   Composer
Lola Mitchell   Composer
Stephen Bruner   Composer
Michael Diamond   Composer
Reine Fiske   Composer
Brock Korsan   Composer
Hit Boy   Producer
Tame Impala   Producer
808 Mafia   Additional Production
Mike Diamond   Composer
Aubrey "Drake" Graham   Composer
Darnell Carlton   Composer
Frank Dukes   Producer,Instrumentation
Boi-1DA   Producer
Chylow Parker   Composer
Lamont Porter   Composer
Kirk Jones   Composer
Blake Harden   Engineer
Cydel Young   Composer
James Blake   Composer
Ramiro Morales   Composer
Kevin Parker   Composer
Matthew Samuels   Composer
Jbeatzz   Producer
Joshua Adams   Composer
Zach Steele   Engineer
BWheezy   Producer
Sonny Corey Uwaezuoke   Composer
Ozan Yildirim   Composer
Sonny Digital   Producer
Cardo   Producer
Chauncey Hollis   Composer
David Stromberg   Additional Production
Bryan Higgins   Composer
Tim Gomringer   Composer
Kevin Gomringer   Composer
Cubeatz   Producer,Additional Production
Christopher Breaux   Composer
Osten Harvey   Composer
Brandon Whitfield   Composer
Abel Tesfaye   Composer
Travis Scott   Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer,Art Direction,Additional Production
Adam Feeney   Composer
Shin Kamiyama   Engineer
June James   Composer,Producer
John Edward Hawkins   Composer
Tom Gomringer   Composer
Trocon Roberts   Composer
Allen Ritter   Composer,Additional Production
Jacques Webster   Composer
Nineteen85   Producer
Ebony Oshunrinde   Composer
Harry Casey   Composer
Robert Barnett   Composer
Paul Jefferies   Composer
Roget Chahayed   Composer,Producer
Trevor Smith   Composer
Thomas Paxton-Beesley   Composer
Matthew Tavares   Composer,Additional Production
Gezin   Additional Production
Shane Lindstrom   Composer
Quavious Marshall   Composer
Khalif Brown   Composer
Kirshnik Ball   Composer
Kaan Gunesberk   Composer
Brandon Korn   Composer,Producer
Ronald LaTour   Composer
30 Roc   Producer
Sevn Thomas   Producer
River Tiber   Additional Production
Murda Beatz   Producer
Samuel Gloade   Composer
FKi 1st   Producer
Navraj Goraya   Composer
Shéyaa Bin Abraham-Joseph   Composer
Rupert Thomas   Composer
Paimon Jahanbin   Composer
Tim Suby   Composer,Producer
Wallis Lane   Producer
Nima Jahanbin   Composer
Tay Keith   Producer
Sergio Kitchens   Composer
Chandler Durham   Composer
Donald Paton   Composer
Khadimou Fall   Composer
Brytavious Chambers   Composer
Björk Gudmundsdottir   Composer
Don Toliver   Composer
Juice WRLD   Composer
Mirsad Dervic   Composer
Jamie Lepe   Composer
James Austin Cyr   Composer
Johnny Stefene   Composer
Bryan Simmons   Composer
London Cyr   Producer
Felix Leone   Producer
Misrad Dirvic   Instrumentation
WondaGurl   Producer
Tyrone Taylor   Composer

Customer Reviews