Atomic Boogie: The National Recordings 1945-1947

Atomic Boogie: The National Recordings 1945-1947

by Big Joe Turner



Although this two-disc set appears to be a collection of tracks by Big Joe Turner and his longtime piano player Pete Johnson, the two only appear together on a half-dozen cuts here, with most of the space given over to Turner, whose trademark mix of jump blues and jazz-inflected R&B, all guided by his powerful vocals, is vintage stuff. Johnson heads up things on 11 tracks, most of which appeared on his 1946 LP for National Records, and his style, while anchored in boogie woogie, is more straight jazz than anything else, even featuring tenor sax great Ben Webster on the delightful "Ben Rides Out." Although one can't help but wish that Turner and Johnson had more cuts together on this collection, it still makes for an exciting and pleasant set.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/03/2001
Label: Savoy Jazz
UPC: 0075679290922
catalogNumber: 92909

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Big Joe Turner   Primary Artist,Vocals
Budd Johnson   Tenor Saxophone
Peter Johnson   Piano
Albert Nicholas   Clarinet
Ben Webster   Tenor Saxophone
Frankie Newton   Trumpet
Joe Sullivan   Piano
George Wettling   Drums
Coleman Hawkins   Saxophone
Teddy Bunn   Guitar
James Adams   Drums
Benny Carter   Saxophone
Abe Bolar   Bass
Warren Brocken   Trumpet
Don Byas   Tenor Saxophone
Otis Finch   Tenor Saxophone
Hall   Bass
Riley Hampton   Alto Saxophone
Lloyd Harrison   Tenor Saxophone
J.C. Heard   Drums
J.C. Higginbotham   Trombone
Camille Howard   Piano
Alray Kidd   Drums
Ulysses Livingston   Guitar
Walter Murden   Drums
Hot Lips Page   Trumpet
Jack Parker   Drums
Ike Perkins   Guitar
Danny Polo   Clarinet
Artie Shapiro   Bass
Jimmy Shirley   Guitar
Leonard Ware   Guitar
Harold "Doc" West   Drums
Williams   Piano
Wild Bill Moore   Tenor Saxophone
Clyde Bernhardt   Trombone
Louie Simon   Tenor Saxophone
Don Stovall   Alto Saxophone
Ellsworth Liggett   Piano
Robert Moore   Bass

Technical Credits

Big Joe Turner   Composer
Peter Johnson   Composer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Colin Escott   Liner Notes,Reissue Producer
Barry Feldman   Executive Producer
Martha E. Koenig   Composer
Spencer Williams   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews