Pub. Date:
Bloomsbury Academic
Augustan Rome / Edition 1

Augustan Rome / Edition 1

by Andrew Wallace-HadrillAndrew Wallace-Hadrill
Current price is , Original price is $21.95. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

This Item is Not Available


Written by Andrew Wallace-Hadrill, one of the world's foremost scholars on Roman social and cultural history, this introduction to Rome in the Age of Augustus provides a fascinating insight into the social and physical contexts of Augustan politics and poetry, exploring in detail the impact of the new regime of government on society. Taking an interpretative approach, the ideas and environment manipulated by Augustus are explored, along with reactions to that manipulation. Emphasizing the role and impact of art and architecture of the time, and on Roman attitudes and values, Augustan Rome explains how the victory of Octavian at Actium transformed Rome and Roman life.

The second edition features a new introductory section on literary figures under Augustus, a final chapter on the reception of Augustus in later periods, updated references to recent scholarship, new figures and an expanded list of further reading.

This thought-provoking yet concise volume sets political changes in the context of their impact on Roman values, on the imaginative world of poetry, on the visual world of art, and on the fabric of the city of Rome.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 2901853991386
Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
Publication date: 01/01/1998
Series: Classical World Series
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 128
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.28(d)

About the Author

Andrew Wallace-Hadrill is Emeritus Professor of Roman Studies, University of Cambridge, UK. His publications include Herculaneum: Past and Future (2011), Rome's Cultural Revolution (2008), Domestic Space in the Roman World: Pompeii and Beyond (1997), Houses and Society in Pompeii and Herculaneum (1995) and Suetonius (1983).

Table of Contents

List of Illustrations
Chronological Overview
The House of Caesars: A Family Tree
Who's Who
1. Writing for Augustus
2. The Myth of Actium
3. Metamorphosis
4. Palace and Court
5. Golden Rome
6. Love and War
7. God and Man
8. The Afterlife of Augustus
Suggestions for Further Reading

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews