August's Treasure

August's Treasure

by Carroll C Jones


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19


August’s Treasure's theme is set in the Appalachian region and it’s history is part of the bedrock in this sweeping novel. An adventurous story of the building of the railroads forms the backdrop for a tale of suspense and intrigue, taking the reader on a journey across the country, back and forth through time from the 19th century to the present, as young August Hargrove sets off to find and to free one person—himself. In order to save his young neck, August Hargrove flees the North Carolina mountains to the wild West. His adventures on a Mississippi River steamboat and transcontinental train, mining for gold in a place named Skidaddle, and building a steam-powered sawmill in the wilds along the East Fork of the Pigeon River leave a rich legacy for later generations of Hargroves to sort out. Great-grandson Clint Hargrove finds an old treasure map and endeavors to follow its clues in uncovering century-old Hargrove secrets.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781945619250
Publisher: Mountain Girl Press
Publication date: 05/19/2017
Pages: 274
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

About the Author

Carroll C. Jones was born and raised in the mountains of Haywood County, North Carolina, in the small paper-mill town of Canton. He is a direct descendant of the Hargrove, Cathey, and Moore families who pioneered the Forks of Pigeon region of Haywood County (present-day Bethel, NC), the setting for August's Treasure and the first two books making up his East Fork Trilogy. After attending the University of South Carolina in Columbia, where he played football for the USC Gamecocks and earned a degree in civil engineering, he began an extended career in the paper industry lasting more than three decades. Carroll's professional work led him out of the Carolina highlands to Brazil, South America and then back to the U.S. where he eventually settled down in Pensacola, Florida. Now retired and living in Morristown, Tennessee, he juggles weekend retreats to the NC mountains, and fly fishing, with his love for writing. To his credit Carroll now has five award-winning books: The 25th North Carolina Troops in the Civil War, Rooted Deep in the Pigeon Valley, Captain Lenoir's Diary, Master of the East Fork, and Rebel Rousers-winner of the prestigious 2016 President's Award from the North Carolina Society of Historians. You can find out more about Carroll and his books on his website at

Table of Contents

Chapter 1 What a Mess
Chapter 2 Busting Out
Chapter 3 WANTED!
Chapter 4 Alias Mr. Hipps and Mr. Woody
Chapter 5 Keeping On Getting It
Chapter 6 A Swedish Beauty
Chapter 7 Full Steam Ahead
Chapter 8 Riding the Rails
Chapter 9 Opportunities and Possibilities
Chapter 10 Birthing Skidaddle
Chapter 11 Last Sheriff Standing
Chapter 12 Free at Last
Chapter 13 Return of the Prodigal
Chapter 14 A Christmas Token
Chapter 15 Scouting the Big East Fork
Chapter 16 Molly
Chapter 17 Futile Warning
Chapter 18 A Killer on the Loose
Chapter 19 Conflicted
Chapter 20 August's Choice
Chapter 21 Taking A Stock to Things
Chapter 22 Seeds of Doubt
Chapter 23 The Damned Splash Dam
Chapter 24 East Fork Treasure
Chapter 25 Lost Burro
Chapter 26 A Dark Family Secret

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews