Australia-China Relations post 1949

Australia-China Relations post 1949

by Yi Wang



Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Australia-China Relations post 1949 by Yi Wang

This book challenges the common perceptions of Australian dependence upon great-power allies in the conduct of its foreign relations through a critical examination of Australia's relations with the People's Republic of China. The author focuses on the economic and political dimensions of the policy-making process from the founding of the PRC in 1949 to the present era, against an analytical framework that takes into account both internal and external factors in the formulation and implementation of Australian foreign policy. Informed by political science and international relations, the book differs from the conventional literature on Sino-Australian relations, which has either focused on pure economic analysis or concentrated on chronicling historical events. The author weaves theoretical insights from political science and international relations into the historical analysis while seeking to examine the interplay between political and economic factors over time in shaping policy outcomes. The book draws not only on primary and secondary sources but also on information and insights obtained from interviews with a vast array of direct participants in the policy process, including almost all the former ambassadors from both China and Australia, covering the entire period of the diplomatic relationship. As a result, the book breaks new ground, especially from the Hawke era onwards, revealing hitherto overlooked details of interest in the policy process.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781409437284
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
Publication date: 08/12/2012
Pages: 264
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.20(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Yi Wang is a Current Affairs Commentator for ABC Radio Australia and a Senior Lecturer at Griffith University, Australia.

Table of Contents

Contents: Preface; Introduction: the central question; The pre-recognition period (1949-1972); The Whitlam/Fraser period (1972-1983); The Hawke era (1983-1989); The Hawke/Keating period (1989-1996); The Howard era (1996-2007); The Rudd period (2007-2010) Findings and conclusions; Appendix; Bibliography; Index.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews