Auteur Labels: Factory Benelux

Auteur Labels: Factory Benelux


$17.67 $19.99 Save 12% Current price is $17.67, Original price is $19.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 17?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Auteur Labels: Factory Benelux

In ways Auteur Labels: Factory Benelux might have been the most necessary of LTM's single-disc compilations focusing on certain labels they had long reissued efforts by -- while New Hormones and Crepuscule were clearly distinct labels, Factory Benelux by its very name seemed to be neither fish nor fowl, allied to the original Factory and releasing many efforts by that label's roster but also releasing a slew of singles and some albums that never appeared on the parent company. Frank Brinkhuis' liner notes do an admirable job in clarifying what exactly was what on that front, putting to bed some rumors (though not always delving into full details) and otherwise spelling out the label's curious decade of existence. The inclusion of Crispy Ambulance's "The Presence" at its full 13 minutes, while inspired, does mean that there are comparatively fewer songs to feature on this disc than on others in the series, while strong but not always standout choices of songs by Durutti Column, Section 25, and Stockholm Monsters are pleasant but not revelatory. However, by including some of the more dance-oriented releases by the label, with Quando Quango, Life, and Nyam Nyam all taking bows from their mid-'80s heyday, it helps to give the compilation -- and by default, the label -- more of an identity.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/08/2008
Label: Ltm
UPC: 5024545508727
catalogNumber: 2521
Rank: 272239

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews