Awakening: Awakening

Awakening: Awakening

by Carol Mingst

Paperback

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Overview

There was contact.

Those in the settlements were only dimly aware that there was anything beyond the small communities they had set up in the hills and along the edge of the plain. But something came to them, crashing in the flatlands beyond a line of rocks.

Jared, one of the few adults with wings, found the sad remains and brought back the survivor and information about what was out there beyond the line of sight from the First Settlement. He shared his discovery with the Four, his most particular friends.

Lori had been a junior member of the crew of the Star Queen. Her life had not been what she hoped for when she left old Earth. She longed to return to her home world, but she never would have expected her travels to end this way—marooned on a nearly deserted planet with only rather primitive technology and a very unique population.

Who would expect there to be people with feathers? In particular, how could anyone who was as fascinating and striking as the one who had rescued her exist?

The Seven Settlements weren’t ready for the disruption of their ways. They were kind enough—especially Jared and his friends—but it wasn’t home. Lori had known the stars, and not even a red-feathered hero was going to make her truly belong.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781524590581
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
Publication date: 04/29/2017
Pages: 366
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.82(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Awakening: Awakening 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
LisaDunckley More than 1 year ago
This is the second book I've read in the new fantasy series by Carol Mingst, and I'm enjoying them! The stories are set in the future, on a planet where there are regular humans (who generally become “Adults” in due course). Then there are “Wings”, who are human(oids?)s with—you guessed it—wings. They are generally less intelligent and are mostly servants to the regular humans. Except! There are the occasional Wings (mostly from interbreeding with regular humans), who have human intelligence and who can become Adults. It turns out that this planet has been basically quarantined and pretty much forgotten by the other populated planets, and the people on this planet mostly dismiss rumors of other planets or space travel as myths. Until a rocket crashes there, with a human survivor. Premise was intriguing, with the shock and confusion of Lori the traveler finding herself on a planet populated by winged people, and the natives of the planet, some of whom insist on staying in denial about where they came from in spite of all evidence. Lori's relationship with Jared (one of the very few winged people with normal intelligence who became an Adult), when he found the crash and rescued her, was well done. One of my favorite parts of this book was that along with the lone human survivor of the crash, there was the mascot of the ship—a cat. No one on this planet has ever seen an animal of any kind! The reactions to this development include disbelief, horror, and delight :) While this is the same world as the previous book Sewer Boy, I think Sewer Boy can be read as a standalone book, whereas The Awakening is the initial book for the series. I would recommend this book for fans of Mercedes Lackey or Tamora Pierce!