Bach: Cantatas

Bach: Cantatas

by Scholl


$16.54 $18.99 Save 13% Current price is $16.54, Original price is $18.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


This album by German counter tenor Andreas Scholl includes two complete Bach cantatas and movements of several others. The best-known is the solo cantata "Ich habe genug, BWV 82," a serene meditation on the ending of life, surrendering oneself into God's hands. Even though the first and last arias are in minor keys they convey not sadness but joyful anticipation of being freed from the suffering of the world. "Gott soll allein mein Herze haben, BWV 169," is a more buoyant expression of gratitude for God's blessings. It's a larger work featuring an introductory eight-minute sinfonia for strings and organ, and a four-part chorale for the final movement. Throughout, Scholl sings with limpid lyricism and a clear, even tone. His coloratura is immaculate and his voice floats with apparent effortlessness through Bach's shapely melismas. His performance is a beautiful blend of keenly expressive singing with a calm dignity. Kammerorchester Basel, a period instrument ensemble, plays with exquisite musicality. The oboe solo that opens "Ich habe genug," for instance, is a model of poised elegance that sounds absolutely spontaneous. The group produces an exceptionally colorful sound, particularly when winds are involved, and the single aria from "Schlage doch, gewünschte Stunde" is punctuated by bell-like high metals, to wonderful effect. The sound is clear, detailed, and nicely ambient.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/11/2011
Label: Decca
UPC: 0028947827337
catalogNumber: 001605202
Rank: 76912


  1. Cantata No. 82, "Ich habe genug," BWV 82 (BC A169)

    1. 1. Aria: Ich habe genug  (07:00)
    2. 2. Recitativo: Ich habe genug  (01:13)
    3. 3. Aria: Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen  (10:04)
    4. 4. Recitativo: Mein Gott! wann kömmt das schöne: Nun!  (00:44)
    5. 5. Aria: Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod  (04:04)
  2. Cantata No. 169, "Gott soll allein mein Herze haben," BWV 169 (BC A143)

    1. 1. Sinfonia  (07:55)
    2. 2. Arioso: Gott soll allein mein Herze haben  (02:46)
    3. 3. Aria: Gott soll allein mein Herze haben  (06:18)
    4. 4. Recitativo: Was ist die Liebe Gottes?  (00:52)
    5. 5. Aria: Sirb in mir, Welt und alle deine Liebe  (05:06)
    6. 6. Recitativo: Doch meint es auch dabei mit eurem Nächsten treu!  (00:28)
    7. 7. Choral: Du süße Liebe, schenk uns deine Gunst  (01:13)
  3. Cantata No. 150, "Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich," BWV 150 (BC B24): 1. Sinfonia

    1. 1. Sinfonia  (01:35)
  4. Cantata No. 200, "Bekennen will ich seinen Namen" (fragment), BWV 200 (BC A192)  (04:29)
  5. Cantata No. 161, "Komm, du süsse Todesstunde," BWV 161 (BC A135): 4. Recitativo: Der Schluss ist schon gemacht

    1. 4. Recitativo: Der Schluss ist schon gemacht  (02:04)
  6. Schlage doch, gewünschte Stunde, funeral cantata for voice, bells, strings & continuo (formerly BWV 53)  (07:31)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Scholl   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews