by Sean ShibeSean Shibe


$20.91 $21.99 Save 5% Current price is $20.91, Original price is $21.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 23


Guitarist Sean Shibe has released several well-received albums, but this set of Bach works serves notice of a major talent. The music was originally for lute, but Bach, an inveterate recycler and transcriber, would have been delighted by this performance. Shibe combines agility and profound structural thought. His ornaments, skillfully adapted from lute to guitar, are graceful and incredibly detailed. His conceptions of the pieces as wholes are compelling indeed: he deemphasizes the dance rhythms in favor of motivic connections between the movements, but they're still there. Consider the unmannered performance of the most famous movement in the group, the Bourrée of the "Suite in E minor, BWV 996." Or turn to the end, where the unusual "Prelude, Fugue, and Allegro, BWV 998," has a luminosity that extends across all three sections. Right from the opening strokes of the Prelude in "BWV 996," Shibe is arresting, and he never really flags. The album is only about 45 minutes long, but it has a rare sense of cohesion and urgency. The church sound is about the only complaint, it does not muddy Shibe's marvelous sounds, but it gives a remoteness to music-making that is deeply personal, and a church was not the venue for which the music was meant.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/22/2020
Label: Delphian
UPC: 0801918342332
catalogNumber: 34233
Rank: 8911


  1. Suite for lute in E minor, BWV 996 (BC L166)

    1. I. Prelude
    2. II. Allemande
    3. III. Courante
    4. IV. Sarabande
    5. V. Bourrée
    6. VI. Gigue
  2. Partita for lute in C minor, BWV 997 (BC L170)

    1. I. Prelude
    2. II. Fugue
    3. III. Sarabande
    4. IV. Gigue
    5. V. Double
  3. Prelude, Fugue and Allegro, for lute in E flat major, BWV 998 (BC L132)

    1. I. Prelude
    2. II. Fugue
    3. III. Allegro

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sean Shibe   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews