Bach: Violin and Voice

Bach: Violin and Voice

by Christine Schäfer, Hilary Hahn


$14.41 $16.99 Save 15% Current price is $14.41, Original price is $16.99. You Save 15%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Bach: Violin and Voice

"These magnificent pieces go to the heart of Bach's artistry.... No matter how many times I play this music, I am always surprised to find in it new intricacies, new touches of beauty." -- Hilary Hahn

Bach composed gorgeous violin passages to accompany the vocal lines of many of his arias and duets. On Bach: Violin & Voice, Hilary Hahn records these passages exquisitely, sharing the program with soprano Christine Schäfer and baritone Matthias Goerne, both also renowned Bach exponents.

Selections from such masterpieces as the St. Matthew Passion and the Mass in B minor are rendered with beauty and reverence, highlighted by the magical tone of Hahn's Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume violin. From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 01/12/2010
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
UPC: 0028947780922
catalogNumber: 001383202
Rank: 104474


  1. St. Matthew Passion (Matthäuspassion), for soloists, double chorus & double orchestra, BWV 244 (BC D3b): Aria: Erbarme dich
  2. Cantata No. 158, "Der Friede sei mit dir," BWV 158 (BC A61): Aria & Chorale: Welt, ade, ich bin dein müde
  3. Cantata No. 117, "Sei Lob und Ehr dem höchsten Gut," BWV 117 (BC A187): Aria: Wenn Trost und Hülf ermangeln muss
  4. Cantata No. 58, "Ach Gott, wie manches Herzeleid," BWV 58 (BC A26): Aria: Ich bin vergnügt in meinem Leiden
  5. Cantata No. 59, "Wer mich liebet, der wird mein Wort halten," BWV 59 (BC A82): Aria: Die Welt mit allen Königreichen
  6. Cantata No. 157, "Ich lasse dich nicht, du segnest mich denn," BWV 157 (BC A170): Aria: Ja, ja, ich halte Jesum feste
  7. Cantata No. 204, "Ich bin in mir vergnügt," BWV 204 (BC G45): Aria: Die Schätzbarkeit der weiten Erden
  8. Cantata No. 140, "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme," BWV 140 (BC A166): Duet: Wann kommst du, mein Heil?
  9. St. Matthew Passion (Matthäuspassion), for soloists, double chorus & double orchestra, BWV 244 (BC D3b): Aria: Gebt mir meinen Jesum wieder
  10. Mass in B minor, for soloists, chorus & orchestra, BWV 232 (BC E1): Aria: Laudamus te
  11. Cantata No. 205, "Zerreisset, zersprenget, zertrümmert die Gruft," BWV 205 (BC G36): Aria: Angenehmer Zephyrus
  12. Cantata No. 32, "Liebster Jesu, mein Verlangen," BWV 32 (BC A31): Aria: Hier in meines Vaters Stätte

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews