Bad Karma

Bad Karma

by Douglas Clegg
3.8 35

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Bad Karma by Douglas Clegg

"I'm coming for you. You will never escape me..." She's the most dangerous person in the prison hospital for the criminally insane...and she's broken free. When Trey Campbell takes his family to Catalina Island, his patient –sociopathic killer Agnes Hatcher – breaks out, leaving a trail of bodies behind as she hunts for her one true love – from a previous life. A gripping psychological thriller full of page-turning suspense and mind-bending horror for fans of James Patterson, Karin Slaughter, and Robert Bryndza. 362 pages. Read all the books in the Criminally Insane series, including Bad Karma, Red Angel, and Night Cage. "Clegg's stories can chill the spine so effectively that the reader should keep paramedics on standby." -- Dean Koontz, New York Times bestselling author *"A sleek, smooth, and constantly surprising page-turner..." -- Ed Gorman, bestselling author of The Marilyn Tapes and The Poker Club. "Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." -- Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author

Product Details

BN ID: 2940014406970
Publisher: Alkemara Press
Publication date: 04/04/2017
Series: The Criminally Insane Series , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 364
Sales rank: 5,081
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Douglas Clegg is the award-winning and bestselling author of horror, gothic, fantasy, thriller and suspense fiction, including Goat Dance, Purity, The Words, The Children's Hour, Breeder, Neverland, The Hour Before Dark, You Come When I Call You, The Machinery of Night, Bad Karma, Nightmare House, Naomi, The Nightmare Chronicles, The Attraction, Dark of the Eye, Mischief, The Infinite, The Abandoned, Red Angel, Night Cage -- and more.

His fiction has won the Bram Stoker Award, the International Horror Guild Award, and the Shocker Award.

Date of Birth:

April 1, 1958

Place of Birth:

Alexandria, Virginia

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bad Karma: Criminally Insane Series, Book 1 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow. It's been a while since I've read a book with such beautifully horrific disgusting imagery. Seriously, the author gives Clive Barker a run for his money when it comes to face peeling, eyeball smearing good times. If you like the splatter-gore of the 1980s, mixed with a bit of a mystery, then read this book. If you are a good, church-goin', simple person who doesn't care for explicit violence, also read this book so you can change your boring life choices! I look forward to trying his other books, hoping to find his writing in a more traditional horror novel, without the typical thriller trappings. Great, fun, cringe-worthy, eye smearing good time!
blutabu More than 1 year ago
This was a very scary read. I would compare Agnes to Gretchen Lowell another beyond crazy killer. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a hair raising story. This was my first Douglas Clegg book and I just bought my second. I can't wait to read it. I hope it is another wild ride!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an easy, enjoyable read. I love serial killer stories and this one didn't disappoint. I am, however, thankful Darden is not real as I live a short distance from Patton, the real hospital for the criminally insane also mentioned here. I am all too familiar with other settings of the book as well, which definitely let me visualize scenes very clearly!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent book to sit back and lose yourself in!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although this book plays with our fears, I found I had to finish the story to ensure myself that the good guys always prevail .
Anonymous 3 months ago
This book and the entire Criminally Insane series are amazing! I am trying to find something that is as fast paced, suspenseful and frighteningly descriptive. This book was a serious page turner that definitely had me at the edge of my seat and left me wanting more!
Anonymous 5 months ago
I just finished reading this and I can't say enough how good it is. No typos (which always jar me out of a story, no matter how good) but relatable, believable, real characters. A short few hours' read that is more satisfying than months worth of movies. A unique and intrigueing plot that mostly surprises, this is well-written and the end leaves just enough up in the air to make the reader draw her own conclusions as to certain concepts of the story, while tying up all the necessary bits. I am eager to read more of his work!
Anonymous 7 months ago
Great thriller and plot
Anonymous 8 months ago
A little eerie.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Some parts were exciting the rest rather ridiculous. Free book.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Gripping! Kept me up reading. Good book.
Anonymous 11 months ago
This was a GREAT read! It kept me hooked from the beginning.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Itwas awaist of time
Anonymous 11 months ago
Predictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
G
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All I can say is OMG . Beast book I have read in a long time. I have never read a book that I couldnt tell you about other than its a good kind of crazy book. The gore is there but its not as sick as one would tank it draws you in to the point that you don't ever want to put it down. You need a open mind to read this book . You can figger out who the bad one is early in but it dosent make a diffrence because you need that to know were the book is going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
With our health care system this very scary story could easily become a reality!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very cool reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could't put it down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read as much as I could stand then skipped to the end. Its like the author is ADHD on redbull. Skipping from one scene to the other. He had gruesome down pat but that's the best I can say about him.
insanepoet65 More than 1 year ago
TITLE: Bad Karma (Book 1 Criminally Insane Series) AUTHOR: Douglas Clegg GENRE: Horror/Thriller PAGES: 246 This book….oh my God, this book! I read it over the weekend, and could have knocked it out in one night, and finished the last 150 pages just last night. Yes, it moves that fast! The main story deals with a Trey, a man who works as a psychiatric technician at Darden State Hospital for the Criminally Insane. He is on vacation with his wife and two kids, contemplating resigning from the job. Then he gets a message to call work, and finds out that all hell has broken loose concerning a patient that Trey know all too well, Agnes Hatcher, A.K.A. The Gorgon. Agnes Hatcher is beautiful, brilliant, very deadly, and obsessed with Trey. She believes that they are destined to be together, that Trey has the soul of one of her former lovers (and mentor whose identity will knock your socks off) he just needs to realize it. Agnes will also kill to prove her love for Trey, and she will kill anyone that gets in her way. Being a former psych tech, this book spoke to me on a lot of levels and addressed one of my personal main fears. Either Mr. Clegg was a former PT, or he knows one because everything was spot on! I cannot recommend this book enough. Seriously, if you want a great quick read that grabs you by the throat and does not let go until well after you are finished, get this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story started off great then it went down hill. Carly got on my nerves from the beginning. She did the stupidest and most immature things like throwing her husband's work beeper into the ocean, unplugging the phone when her husband was waiting for a call from work, stirring up her kids to go horse back riding when she new her son was too young, getting her husband to jump a fence so they could both trespass to the caves, etc. She was also lazy, annoying and bossy telling her husband to get her a drink and meet her outside and to bring the camera so hr can videotape the kids. This story was typical white people on vacation. They take their kids with them but get a baby sitter so they don’t have to spend any time with them. The main character, Trey, was such a wimp. I really doubt the police would just let him take off after they tell him Agnes has his family. If Agnes was so smart and an extremely efficient killer then why didn't she kill of Trey's family right away? Especially the annoying Carly. I was really hoping at least she would go. Trey's kids, Teresa and Marky, were both brats especially when it came to the horse riding idea. Marky could have ridden with his mom or dad, he didn't have to have his own horse and Trey and Carly are the parents so they could have forced Teresa to go with them. Everyone doing their own thing is not a "family" vacation. The part of the story that was just ridiculous was when the TV news channel reported Agnes was dead in the burning car at the bottom of the arroyo. Why would they make that stupid assumption without first checking on who owns the car? Another ridiculous thing is if Trey had a beeper then why did he give his coworker the phone number and address to the place they were vacationing at? Too bad the story went down hill. The author made Agnes sound like a female Hannibal Lecter at the beginning of the story which made it interesting but then at the end she didn't even kill off Trey or anyone in his family. The story became predictable with a happy ending where the good guy wins. Please, if Agnes was half as good at killing as the author had us believe then no one would have been left standing and she would have gotten away.