Badger Boy (Texas Rangers Series #2)

Badger Boy (Texas Rangers Series #2)

by Elmer Kelton
5.0 3


View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Badger Boy (Texas Rangers Series #2) by Elmer Kelton

The Texas Frontier, 1865: The Civil War is over and Texas is reluctantly yielding to the Union soldiers spreading across the state, even into the dangerous Comanche country.

David "Rusty" Shannon, proud member of a "ranging company" attempting to protect Texas settlers from Indian depredations, finds that the rangers are being disbanded. He makes his way home to his land on the Red River, hoping to take up the life of a farmer and the hand of the beloved girl he left behind, Geneva Monahan.

But Geneva has married in Rusty's long absence and the country filled with hostiles — not just Indians, but hate-filled Confederates, overbearing Union soldiers, and army renegades. Rusty's youth as a captive of the Comanches returns to haunt him when, in pursuit of Indian raiders, he takes as prisoner Badger Boy, a white child taken from his murdered parents by a Comanche warrior.

Author Biography: Elmer Kelton lives in San Angelo, Texas.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780786291441
Publisher: Gale Group
Publication date: 12/13/2006
Series: Texas Rangers Series , #2
Pages: 437
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Elmer Kelton (1926-2009) was the award-winning author of more than forty novels, including The Time It Never Rained, Other Men's Horses, Texas Standoff and Hard Trail to Follow. He grew up on a ranch near Crane, Texas, and earned a journalism degree from the University of Texas. His first novel, Hot Iron, was published in 1956. Among his awards have been seven Spurs from Western Writers of America and four Western Heritage awards from the National Cowboy Hall of Fame. His novel The Good Old Boys was made into a television film starring Tommy Lee Jones. In addition to his novels, Kelton worked as an agricultural journalist for 42 years, and served in the infantry in World War II. He died in 2009.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Badger Boy (Texas Rangers Series #2) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Elmer Kelton develops further the character of Rusty Shannon, first introduced to us in 'The Buckskin Line.' As the Civil War ends, Rusty finally takes leave of the Rangers (the 'Buckskin Line') to return to his home and to his sweetheart. There he finds his first surprise. Conflict between old and new enemies meets Rusty--as often as he renews old friendships and acquaintances. And some of those enemies and acquaintances are Indians. Just as Rusty had been taken by raiding Indians as a child, so was young 'Badger Boy.' The manner in which Rusty and Badger Boy link up is pure Kelton. Ah, and the great thing is that it's obvious the struggles (and Kelton's writing about them) will continue. If you've read 'The Buckskin Line' and liked it, you'll LOVE 'Badger Boy.' But you'll be waiting for more Kelton when you finish this 'un! If you have NOT read 'Buckskin Line,' do so, or this book will leave you wondering. Kelton outdoes himself again, but we know there's more to come! Doesn't get any bett'r'n that! Is the next Kelton gonna be a sequel to 'Badger Boy' or to 'Smiling Country.' I can hardly wait!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago