Baghdad Solitaire

Baghdad Solitaire

by Leslie Cockburn
5.0 1

Paperback

$16.00
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

Baghdad Solitaire by Leslie Cockburn

In Iraq after the fall of Saddam Hussein, love and friendship are as uncertain as the shifting battle lines of the civil war. Lee McGuinness, a trauma surgeon on a humanitarian mission, is also on a personal quest: to find her companion-in-arms, Martin Carrigan, who has disappeared under mysterious circumstances. Has he been kidnapped for ransom? Or is he a traitor to his country, running arms to the insurgents? In search of someone - and something - to believe in, Lee must navigate a wilderness of mirrors in which greed, lies, and brutality are found among allies and enemies alike. In the tradition of Graham Greene and Robert Stone, Leslie Cockburn has written a haunting novel of intrigue and romance set in a deadly world of deception.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781940412009
Publisher: Asahina & Wallace
Publication date: 09/16/2013
Pages: 380
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.85(d)

About the Author

Leslie Cockburn lives in Washington, D.C., and Ireland. This is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Baghdad Solitaire 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Full disclosure: I helped Leslie with this book by sitting with her a couple of times and relating my experiences working for the US Embassy in Iraq from May 2004-May 2005. However, I had no idea how powerful and engaging her book would turn out. Leslie nails her descriptions and I can taste, feel, hear and smell the occupation and the war, so much that I had to put the book down for a few days and then return to it and read small excerpts at a time. Her writing is gifted and moving, there is a graceful structure and simplicity to its flow. The story is credible, plausible and possible. The book accurately conveys Iraq under occupation, the currents of resentment and grievance that fueled the insurgency, the hubris and incompetence that guided the occupation, and the horror and tragedy that befell, and continues to befall, countless millions of innocents. Beautiful and haunting, my sincerest appreciation to Leslie for capturing and conveying in a novel what haunts so many of my memories. Matthew Hoh, Raleigh, NC