Baseball's Dynasties and the Players Who Built Them

Baseball's Dynasties and the Players Who Built Them

by Jonathan Weeks

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Baseball has had its fair share of one-and-out champions, but few clubs have dominated the sport for any great length of time. Given the level of competition and the expansive length of the season, it is a remarkable accomplishment for a team to make multiple World Series appearances in a short timespan. From the Baltimore Orioles of the 1800s who would go to any length to win—including physically accosting opponents—to the 1934 Cardinals known as the “Gashouse Gang” for their rough tactics and determination, and on to George Steinbrenner’s dominant Yankees of the late twentieth century, baseball’s greatest teams somehow found a way to win year after year.

Spanning three centuries of the game, Baseball’s Dynasties and the Players Who Built Them examines twenty-two of baseball’s most iconic teams. Each chapter not only chronicles the club’s era of supremacy, but also provides an in-depth look at the players who helped make their teams great. Nearly two hundred player profiles are included, featuring such well-known stars as Joe DiMaggio, Jackie Robinson, Sandy Koufax, and Pete Rose, as well as players who were perhaps overshadowed by their teammates but were nonetheless vital to their team’s reign, such as Pepper Martin, Allie Reynolds, and George Foster.

With a concluding chapter that profiles the clubs that were on the cusp of greatness, Baseball’s Dynasties and the Players Who Built Them is a fascinating survey of what makes some teams dominate year after year while others get only a small taste of glory before falling to the wayside. Written in a lively style with amusing anecdotes and colorful quotes, this comprehensive book will be of interest to all fans and historians of baseball.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781442261570
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 07/08/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 408
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Jonathan Weeks is a lifelong baseball enthusiast and member of the Society for American Baseball Research. He is the author of Cellar Dwellers: The Worst Teams in Baseball History (Scarecrow, 2012), Baseball’s Most Notorious Personalities: A Gallery of Rogues (Scarecrow, 2013), and Mudville Madness: Fabulous Feats, Belligerent Behavior, and Erratic Episodes on the Diamond (Taylor Trade, 2014).
Jonathan Weeks is vocational supervisor for North Star Industries with a degree in psychology.

Table of Contents

Chapter 1: Baltimore Orioles: 1894–1897
Chapter 2: Pittsburgh Pirates: 1901–1903
Chapter 3 Chicago Cubs: 1906–1910
Chapter 4 Philadelphia Athletics: 1910–1914
Chapter 5 Boston Red Sox: 1915–1918
Chapter 6: New York Giants: 1921–1924
Chapter 7: New York Yankees: 1926–1928
Chapter 8: Philadelphia Athletics: 1929–1931
Chapter 9: St. Louis Cardinals: 1930–1934
Chapter 10: New York Yankees: 1936–1939
Chapter 11: New York Yankees: 1949–1953
Chapter 12: Brooklyn Dodgers: 1952–1956
Chapter 13: Los Angeles Dodgers: 1963–1966
Chapter 14: St. Louis Cardinals: 1964–1968
Chapter 15: Baltimore Orioles: 1966–1971
Chapter 16: Oakland Athletics: 1972–1974
Chapter 17: Cincinnati Reds: 1972–1976
Chapter 18: New York Yankees: 1976–1978
Chapter 19: Oakland Athletics: 1988–1990
Chapter 20: Toronto Blue Jays: 1991–1993
Chapter 21: Atlanta Braves: 1991–1996
Chapter 22: New York Yankees: 1996–2000
Chapter 23: Honorable Mentions
About the Author

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews