Basically Basie

Basically Basie

by Count Basie


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/04/2005
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065902223
catalogNumber: 922


Disc 1

  1. Swinging at the Daisy Chain
  2. One O'Clock Jump
  3. John's Idea
  4. Time Out
  5. Topsy
  6. Out of the Window
  7. Every Tub
  8. Swingin' the Blues
  9. Blue and Sentimental
  10. Doggin' Around
  11. Texas Shuffle
  12. Jumpin' at the Woodside
  13. Panassie Stomp
  14. Lady Be Good
  15. Taxi War Dance
  16. Volcano
  17. Ham 'N' Eggs
  18. Moten Swing
  19. Love Jumped Out
  20. Wiggle Woogie
  21. Music Makers
  22. Jitters
  23. Down, Down, Down
  24. Diggin' for Dex
  25. Taps Miller

Disc 2

  1. Honeysuckle Rose
  2. Roseland Shuffle
  3. Smarty
  4. Shorty George
  5. Cherokee: Pt. 1
  6. Cherokee: Pt. 2
  7. The Apple Jump
  8. I Never Knew
  9. Tickle Toe
  10. Louisiana
  11. Easy Does It
  12. Let Me See
  13. Gone with "What" Wind?
  14. Superchief
  15. The World Is Mad: Pt. 1
  16. The World Is Mad: Pt. 2
  17. Five O'Clock Whistle
  18. Broadway
  19. Rockin' the Blues
  20. Beau Brummel
  21. Jump the Blues Away
  22. 9.20 Special
  23. Fiesta in Blue
  24. Somethin' New
  25. Feather Merchant
  26. Ain't That the Truth

Disc 3

  1. Evenin'
  2. Pennies from Heaven
  3. Exactly Like You
  4. Boogie Woogie
  5. Listen My Children (And You Shall Hear)
  6. Good Morning Blues
  7. Georgianna
  8. Sent for You Yesterday
  9. Mama Don't Want No Peas an' Rice an' Coconut Oil
  10. Stop Beatin' Around the Mulberry Bush
  11. My Heart Belongs to Daddy
  12. You Can Depend on Me
  13. Thursday
  14. Goin' to Chicago
  15. If I Could Be with You (One Hour Tonight)
  16. Bolero at the Savoy
  17. Sub Deb Blues
  18. Nobody Knows
  19. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
  20. Someday Sweetheart
  21. Somebody Stole My Girl
  22. I Want a Little Girl
  23. My Wanderin' Man
  24. Harvard Blues
  25. Rusty Dusty Blues

Disc 4

  1. Shoeshine Boy
  2. Lady Be Good
  3. How Long Blues
  4. The Dirty Dozens
  5. Hey! Lawdy Mama
  6. The Fives
  7. Boogie Woogie
  8. Oh! Red
  9. Fare Thee Honey, Fare Thee Well
  10. Dupree Blues
  11. When the Sun Goes Down
  12. Red Wagon
  13. Jive at Five
  14. I Ain't Got Nobody
  15. Live and Love Tonight
  16. Love Me or Leave Me
  17. Dickie's Dream
  18. Lester Leaps In
  19. Till Tom Special
  20. Gone with "What" Wind?
  21. Royal Garden Blues
  22. Bugle Blues
  23. Sugar Blues
  24. Farewell Blues
  25. Cafe Society Blues

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Count Basie   Primary Artist,Organ,Piano
Paul Bascomb   Tenor Saxophone
Chu Berry   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie Christian   Electric Guitar
Buck Clayton   Trumpet
Harry Edison   Trumpet
Benny Goodman   Clarinet
Freddie Green   Clarinet,Guitar
Lionel Hampton   Vibes
Helen Humes   Vocals
Jo Jones   Drums
Jimmy Rushing   Vocals
Tab Smith   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Buddy Tate   Tenor Saxophone
Lucky Thompson   Tenor Saxophone
Lester Young   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Coleman Hawkins   Tenor Saxophone
Walter Page   String Bass
Artie Bernstein   String Bass
Don Byas   Tenor Saxophone
Kenny Clarke   Drums
Shad Collins   Trumpet
Ed Cuffee   Trombone
Vic Dickenson   Trombone
Ted Donnelly   Trombone
Eddie Durham   Guitar,Trombone
Herschel Evans   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Nick Fatool   Drums
Karl George   Trumpet
George Hunt   Trombone
Joe Keyes   Trumpet
Killian   Trumpet
Dan Minor   Trombone
Jimmy Powell   Alto Saxophone
Caughey Roberts   Alto Saxophone
Eli Robinson   Trombone
Rudy Rutherford   Baritone Saxophone
Louis Taylor   Trombone
Earle Warren   Alto Saxophone,Vocals
Jack Washington   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Dicky Wells   Trombone
Claude "Fiddler" Williams   Guitar
Shadow Wilson   Drums
Joe Newman Quartet   Trumpet
Rodney Richardson   Bass
Ed Lewis   Trumpet
Bobby Hicks   Trumpet
Benny Morton's All Stars   Trombone
Bobby Moore   Trumpet
Robert Scott   Trombone
Carl "The Truth" Smith   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Count Basie   Director
Buck Clayton   Arranger
Andy Gibson   Arranger
Jimmy Mundy   Arranger
Buster Smith   Arranger
Eddie Durham   Guitar Arrangements
Sally-Ann Worsfold   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews