Bastard's Brew (Family Portrait Vol. 3)

Bastard's Brew (Family Portrait Vol. 3)

by Gillian Felix

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940045756297
Publisher: Gillian Felix
Publication date: 04/13/2014
Series: Family Portrait , #3
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 241 KB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Gillian Felix has been writing since she was old enough to hold a pencil. She enjoys creating characters that could be your next-door neighbor, but would you want them as your neighbor is another story. Originally from the island republic of Trinidad and Tobago, Miss Felix moved to the United States in 1998. Since then she has been involved in the entertainment industry for over ten years. Her experience ranges from script supervisor to production manager on many independent features. She is trained in the Meisner and Stanislavski technique of acting, which she credits as an asset to her character development and writing. Miss Felix is also an entrepreneur and advocate for children's and women's rights.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bastard's Brew (Family Portrait Vol. 3) 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
jukelley More than 1 year ago
Bastard’s Brew is the 3rd book in the Family Portrait series by Gillian Felix. I’ve been lucky enough to get the opportunity to participate in the book tour for the release of this book. I’ve been gifted a copy of the book in exchange for my honest opinion. Where to begin with this review? I have so many things I would LOVE to talk about but can’t. I don’t want to risk ruining anything for those who may be reading reviews to decide whether to try the series. (If that’s you, you really should give it a try!) There is so much happening and a few really big secrets coming to light (or about to be blown wide open). I can’t imagine how I will make it through the wait for the next book. I am not known for patiently waiting on anything, especially in reading a series. I absolutely love the bond that the Banovic siblings have with each other. As a parent, I would certainly disagree with some of the things going on and the way Kevin, as the older sibling and the one in charge, handles them. But as far as the sibling relationship itself, I love it. I love that Kevin knows without a doubt he can count on his sister to help with anything, no questions asked. I love how both boys take care of Adriana when she needs them. One of my favorite scenes was when Adriana woke up from a nightmare and went downstairs and cuddled up on the couch next to Kevin. How sweet! Now, in this book, Kevin does something that could potentially harm Adriana. I question why he went as far as he did (and that he wouldn’t know that what he did could have caused harm, but I’ll overlook that since the book isn’t written to be totally realistic), but I’ve seen parents react in a similar fashion about similar issues with their children. I know he meant to help her, and probably protect her, in the long run. This book also deals with a more serious issue that I don’t want to mention and give anything away. However, I will say that because of this, I would categorize this book as NA. Nothing is described in detail, but I wouldn’t want my 13 year old reading it, although I would be ok with my 17 year old reading it. I hope that we will get to watch how the characters deal with what happened as they continue to live their lives. The subject, as Ms. Felix has written it, is one that many people shy away from, but one that does happen. I am enjoying the writing format Gillian Felix uses for this series. It is easy to follow and understand, but it moves at a quick pace. As I’ve mentioned before, there is never a dull moment. I like having a bunch of different characters to follow, especially when they all link together in some way as well. Please note that each book does tend to end on a cliffhanger, just as a TV episode does each week. I feel that is important to mention since some people are completely against cliffhangers. Honestly, I am one of those people. I hope we don’t have to wait long for the next book. Just as you expect when watching a TV show, there are characters you will love, those you will hate, lies you are dying to see found out and others you hope stay hidden, relationships and/or friendships you enjoy watching come together and those you can’t wait to watch fall apart. There is one thing I think I have figured out and am dying to bounce off of someone else. This is a sign of a good series!
Alex_Margaret More than 1 year ago
I received this book for a book tour from the author in exchange for an honest review. This book was slightly awkward to read. I believe this was because I didn't read the first two yet (however, I plan to do so). It seemed as if there was so much going on in the story which made me confused for half the book. I did an interview with the author, and she said she wrote it as if it where a show. I found this interesting and think that it would be a fantastic show. It had so many story lines that sort of confused me, but was fun to read. Kevin is a drug dealer who is trying to protect his family. He loves L'Wren. He's having an affair with L'Wren's stepmother Savi. His sister is 15 and is dating an employee of theirs, who thinks she is his age (he's around 25). His brother was a more minor character but affected the story. It was entertaining to see what was going to happen next and I enjoyed it. I recommend the series to readers who enjoy mystery-like romances. Rating: 6.7/10 Parental Rating: 17+