Pub. Date:
Battle Cry

Battle Cry

by Judas PriestJudas Priest


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25


Never ones to back down from a good fight, the New Wave of British Heavy Metal icons return to the (live) killing fields with Battle Cry, a concert CD/DVD/Blu-ray recorded during their 2014 Redeemer of Souls tour. ROS was a return to form for the group, eschewing the slick production of some of their late-period recordings in favor of a set of songs that wouldn't have sounded out of place on 1976's Sad Wings of Destiny. It was also their first outing not to include K.K. Downing, and Battle Cry is the first Priest concert album not to feature the founding guitarist. It's hardly a deal-breaker though, as Richie Faulkner has settled into the role nicely, and his interplay with the more seasoned Glenn Tipton is both fluid and respectable, with the pair delivering the kind of effortless yet still freewheeling guitar-monies that have come to define the group over the last 47 years. Featuring 15 songs from their August 1, 2015 performance at Germany's Wacken Open Air festival, Battle Cry offers up a suitable mix of fan favorites and new material, including "Dragonaut," "You've Got Another Thing Comin'," "Beyond the Realms of Death," and "Hell Bent for Leather." Rob Halford's pipes, while not nearly as elastic as days passed, are still impressive, and the band tears into the set, specifically the newer tunes, with workmanlike vigor, but there's not a ton of fun to be had here for the casual fan. Listeners looking for an audio snapshot of the group at its stage peak would be much better off with 1979's far superior Unleashed in the East. The Blu-ray edition of Battle Cry includes three bonus cuts that were taken from the band's December 10, 2015, show at the Ergo Arena in Gdansk, Poland.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/25/2016
Label: Epic
UPC: 0889853022625
catalogNumber: 530226
Rank: 87180


  1. Battle Cry (Intro)
  2. Dragonaut
  3. Metal Gods
  4. Devil's Child
  5. Victim of Changes
  6. Halls of Valhalla
  7. Redeemer of Souls
  8. Beyond the Realms of Death
  9. Jawbreaker
  10. Breaking the Law
  11. Hell Bent for Leather
  12. The Hellion
  13. Electric Eye
  14. You've Got Another Thing Coming
  15. Painkiller

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Judas Priest   Primary Artist
Rob Halford   Vocals,Group Member
Ian Hill   Bass Guitar,Group Member
Glenn Tipton   Guitar,Group Member
Scott Travis   Drums,Group Member
Major Tom   Sounds
Richie Faulkner   Guitar,Group Member

Technical Credits

Adi Vines   Guitar Techician
Andy Banks   Audio Technician
Meghan Foley   Artwork
Michael Berger   Guitar Techician
Graham Hill   Lighting Technician
Tom Allom   Producer
Greg "Weasel" Morgan   Guitar Techician
Sean "Stig" Tighe   Bass Technician
Jack Ruston   Producer
John Goss   Drum Technician
Russel Harris   Video Technician
Dave (Dribble) Poynter   Audio Technician

Customer Reviews