Battle of the Sexes

Battle of the Sexes

by Ludacris


If it seems odd that an album as bravado-filled, trash-talking, and schoolboy horny as this one comes with the title Battle of the Sexes, it can be explained as a leftover title from what was originally planned as a joint release from Ludacris and his DTP protégé Shawnna. After the album's better half left the project -- along with the DTP family -- the title was never readjusted, and there are further confusing traces of the original concept, such as the "us vs. them" intro, which opens an album that's almost entirely "us." Still, quality control is less important than titillation when it comes to the porno-style album, and Battle of the Sexes delivers on that level. Redd Foxx-like ideas like making limbo instructions sound especially nasty ("How Low") or having fun with the Tiger Woods sex scandal (the bonus track "Sexting") are coupled with safe and slick beats from the likes of the Runners, Swizz Beatz, and the Legendary Traxster. Luda is inspired enough to drop at least one belly laugh-worthy punch line per track, while the numerous guests are, at worst, on point, and at best (that would be Nicki Minaj), on fire. The less-sexed "Everybody Drunk" barely fits, but it's still a party time highlight, and when you add the very R. Kelly-esque "Sex Room," plus Lil' Kim getting vicious on "Hey Ho," you've got more prime material than expected. Limited and a little patched together, but if cheap thrills are what you're after, this one puts the dirty back in Dirty South. [The Deluxe Edition features a remix of "My Chick" along with the "Sexting" bonus track.]

Product Details

Release Date: 03/09/2010
Label: Dtp Recordings
UPC: 0602527328324
catalogNumber: 001403102

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ludacris   Primary Artist
Loren Dawson   Keyboards
Shawnna   Vocals
Christine Taylor   Vocals
Ester Dean   Vocals
Novakane   Vocals
Poon Daddy   Vocals
DJ Nabs   scratching
Carla Henderson   Vocals
Misty Fluellen   Vocals
Lil Play   Vocals

Technical Credits

Jeff Dixon   Executive Producer
Hank Shocklee   Composer
P. Williams   Composer
T. Williams   Composer
Legendary Traxster   Producer
Doug Joswick   Package Production
Deborah Mannis-Gardner   Sample Clearance
Ralph Cacciurri   Engineer
Marcus Allen   Producer
Neptunes   Producer
Swizz Beatz   Producer
Brian Turner   Producer
C. Stewart   Composer
Kevin Cates   Producer
Andrew Coleman   Arranger,Engineer
Ludacris   Executive Producer
Chaka Zulu   Executive Producer
Infinity   Producer
Will Ragland   Logo Design
Jaymz Hardy-Martin   Engineer
Josh Monroy   Engineer
Ronald "Caveman" Rosario   Engineer
Kori Anders   Engineer
DJ Montay   Producer
Tony Dinero   Producer
Mike Miller   Engineer
Chris Kasych   Engineer
Runners   Producer
Dave Clauss   Engineer
Alex Haldi   Graphic Design,Art Direction
Tremaine Neverson   Composer
S. Crawford   Composer
Marlon Goodwin   Composer
M. Humphrey   Composer
Christopher Bridges   Composer
S. Lindley   Composer
Xcel   Producer
B-Crucial   Producer
R. Bautista   Composer
L. Dawson   Composer
Tramar Dillard   Composer
T-Minus   Producer
Jeremy Stevenson   Engineer
Shondrae "Mr. Bangladesh" Crawford   Producer
Polow da Don   Programming
J. Austin   Composer
Reese Mack   Engineer
Matthew Knobel   Engineer
Stephen M. McDowell   Engineer
Onika Maraj   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews