BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge, Vol. 5

BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge, Vol. 5


$35.14 $36.99 Save 5% Current price is $35.14, Original price is $36.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 29 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge, Vol. 5

The presenter may have changed but the winning format stays the same. BBC Radio 1 Live Lounge, Vol. 5 is the first installment from the hugely successful series to feature performances largely recorded on the mid-morning show hosted by DJ Fearne Cotton, who replaced the long-running Jo Whiley at the end of 2009. Like its previous chart-topping releases, the 38-song track list includes live renditions of both original songs and covers of contemporary chart hits, recorded at the BBC Radio 1 and Maida Vale studios in London. While some artists opt to perform straightforward versions of both their own songs (Paloma Faith's "New York," Mark Ronson's "Bang Bang Bang") and other acts (N-Dubz' "The Script Medley," Jason Derülo's cover of Plan B's "She Said"), the majority use the opportunity to experiment, which is often where the most excitement and intrigue occur. Marina & the Diamonds turn 3OH!3's wolf-whistling "Starstrukk" into a gorgeous piano-based torch song, Scissor Sisters reworks Kylie Minogue's glittery dance anthem "All the Lovers" into an authentic country hoedown, while Miike Snow adds an ambient ethereal feel to La Roux's nu-synth hit "In for the Kill." But as usual, the standout moments are provided by the artists who embrace the album's concept wholeheartedly. Taio Cruz transforms Mumford & Sons' folk-led "Little Lion Man" into an electro-pop stomper, Kelly Rowland turns Kasabian's pounding "Underdog" into a soulful acoustic ballad, while Example provides a rather unexpectedly tender rendition of Katy Perry's "Teenage Dream." Not all the performances are as successful. Jay Sean's stripped-down rendition of Black Eyed Peas' "I Gotta Feeling" only exposes the original's shortcomings, while Roll Deep's grime interpretation of "Telephone" sucks all the fun out of the Lady Gaga/Beyonce number one. But with its one-take recording process and varied array of artists, it's almost a given that several skippable tracks will appear. Thanks to some unlikely risk-takers and stunning live performances, the Radio 1's Live Lounge's fifth volume ensures the brand still remains an interesting and unmissable listen.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/2010
Label: Sony Uk
UPC: 0886977933929
catalogNumber: 7793392
Rank: 203485

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Steve Perry   Composer
Neal Schon   Composer
Steve Kipner   Composer
Miti Adhikari   Engineer
Dave Grohl   Composer
Jerry Smith   Engineer
Foo Fighters   Composer
Andy Rogers   Producer
Stacy Ferguson   Composer
Rodney Jerkins   Composer
Simon Askew   Engineer
Joe Cross   Composer
Robyn   Composer
Mike Walter   Engineer
Nick Scripps   Engineer
John Fortis   Composer
Nick Fountain   Engineer
James Scheffer   Composer
Steve Mac   Composer
LaShawn Daniels   Composer
Kamaal Fareed   Composer
Beyoncé Knowles   Composer
Kelly Rowland   Composer
Wayne Wilkins   Composer
Kelis   Composer
Alex Greenwald   Composer
Jean Baptiste   Composer
Ben Langmaid   Composer
George Thomas   Engineer
Mark Sheehan   Composer
Ian Painter   Engineer
Alicia Keys   Composer
Andrew Frampton   Composer
Jamie Hart   Engineer
Biffy Clyro   Composer
Simon Neil   Composer
Sam Cunningham   Management
Mark Ronson   Composer
David Guetta   Composer
Bonnie McKee   Composer
Guy Worth   Engineer
Makeba Riddick   Composer
Eric Appapoulaye   Composer
Jodi Marr   Composer
Sergio Pizzorno   Composer
Nick Hodgson   Composer
Rico Love   Composer
Homer Steinweiss   Composer
Adam Anderson   Composer
Calvin Harris   Composer
Tom Goss   Composer
Ari Levine   Composer
Katy Perry   Composer
Lady Gaga   Composer
Fred Riesterer   Composer
Bruno Mars   Composer
Elly Jackson   Composer
Paloma Faith   Composer
Ellie Goulding   Composer
Lorenzo Sillitto   Composer
Richard Cassell   Composer
Daniel O'Donoghue   Composer
Nadir Khayat   Composer
Nate Walka   Composer
Miriam Nervo   Composer
Sean Foreman   Composer
Nathaniel Motte   Composer
Simone Lombardi   Engineer
Mumford & Sons   Composer
A. Levine   Composer
Philip Lawrence   Composer
Martin Sandberg   Composer
Patrik Berger   Composer
Benjamin Levin   Composer
James Eliot   Composer
Jaime Gomez   Composer
Lazonte Franklin   Composer
Olivia Nervo   Composer
Elliot Gleave   Composer
Ina Wroldsen   Composer
Travis McCoy   Composer
Dougy Mandagi   Composer
Jonny Lattimer   Composer
Travie McCoy   Composer
Theo Hutchcraft   Composer
Marina Diamandis   Composer
Timothy McKenzie   Composer
Patrick Okogwu   Composer
Allan Pineda   Composer
Amanda Warner   Composer
Shama Joseph   Composer
Frederic Riesterer   Composer
Johana Miflin   Engineer
Jemima Stilwell   Composer
James Riles   Composer
Fearne Cotton   Liner Notes
Elena Goulding   Composer
Deodrick Jackson   Composer
Benjamin Drew   Composer
Phil Deacon   Engineer
Lukasz Gottwald   Composer
Nick Douwma   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews