Beasts of No Nation/O.D.O.O

Beasts of No Nation/O.D.O.O

by Fela Kuti


$14.25 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.25, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Beasts of No Nation/O.D.O.O

By time of the two half-hour tracks on this CD reissue, Kuti's lyrics were as confrontational and critical of government behavior as ever. The revolutionary aspects of his music, however, had been dulled by the repetition of his formula over many years. "Beasts of No Nation," a half-hour track from 1989, is not one of his more memorable grooves or sequences of interchanges among instruments and lead-backup vocals. The lyrics were characteristic comments on his personal situation, though. The first song he wrote in 1986 after leaving prison, it comments on the behavior of the judge (who apologized to him in a prison hospital for his conviction), and also weaves critique of the United Nations into the tune. "O.D.O.O. (Overtake Don Overtake Overtake)," from 1990, protests the negative effects of military regimes in Africa -- not a new theme for his work, though certainly one worthy of ongoing concern. Percussive prominence and variation plays a stronger role in this cut than it does in some of Fela's other work. Yet structurally, his music's navigation through numerous instrumental passages and sequencing of instrumental and vocal parts is almost as predictable as a graph of the temperature rising as water is boiled.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/18/2011
Label: Knitting Factory
UPC: 0720841802129
catalogNumber: 1026
Rank: 87511

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fela Kuti   Primary Artist,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Oyinade Adeniran   Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Lekan Animashaun   Leader,Baritone Saxophone,Group Member
Akos Asiedu   Vocals
Kwame Bako   Conga,Group Member
Akomeah Dodo   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Group Member
Victor Ebreneyin   Bass Guitar,Group Member
Chioma Ecosuisa   Vocals
Rilwan Fagbemi   Baritone Saxophone,Group Member
Keji Hamilton   Piano,Bass Guitar,Group Member
Benjamin Ijagun   Drums,Group Member
Fehintola A. Kuti   Vocals
Folake A. Kuti   Vocals
Lanre A. Kuti   Alto Saxophone
Oye Moses   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Group Member
Soji Odukogbe   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Soloist,Group Member
Oghene Ogbeni   Group Member
Festus Okotie   Guitar (Tenor),Group Member
Dele Olayinka   Maracas,Shekere,Group Member
Adegoke Solomon   Guitar (Tenor),Group Member
Stephen Uken   Trumpet,Group Member
Oma Umude   Vocals
Jonas Anyakor   Bass Guitar,Group Member
Olarewaju A. Kuti   Soprano Saxophone,Group Member
Ngosi Nwafor   Vocals
Mosa Okome   Group Member
Femi Oladegunwa   Bass Guitar,Group Member
Nwale Omabuwa   Conga,Group Member
Kola Oni   Alto Saxophone,Group Member
Bola Taiwo   Trumpet,Group Member
Stephen Ukem   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Group Member
Mary Umude   Vocals
Hoga Fulsherie   Vocals
Chioma Elosiuba   Vocals
Akoswa Asiedu   Vocals
Ajavi Adebeyi   Conga,Group Member
Yinusa Akinnibosun   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist,Group Member

Technical Credits

Fela Kuti   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Writer
Oghene Ogbeni   Clefs
Sodi   Engineer
Ignatus Ibebuike   Engineer
Ghariokwu Lemi   Cover Painting
Mosa Okome   Clefs
Mabinuori Kayode Idowu   Liner Notes
Fred Mohammed   translation
Frank Barrett   Engineer
Femi Bankole-Osunla   Lyric Coordinator
Borniface Okafor   Cover Painting
Uwa Erhabor   Lyric Coordinator
Segun Lawani   translation

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews