Beat Avenue

Beat Avenue

by Eric AndersenEric Andersen


$23.83 $24.99 Save 5% Current price is $23.83, Original price is $24.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


Like Dylan, singer/songwriter Eric Andersen has mutated through many genres, from the bicoastal folk movement of the ‘60s to blues, rock, punk, and back home again. Beat Avenue is a vividly biographical two-CD set that incorporates the soundtracks of Andersen’s life. The title cut is a 26-minute story about Andersen’s experiences at a stoned-out party with the Beats Allen Ginsberg, Neal Cassady, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, David Meltzer, and Michael McClure. It was the evening of November 22, 1963, the day John F. Kennedy was assassinated. Against a smooth-jazz matrix, Andersen’s husky voice relives the pain, the medication, and the ensuing woozy high of the evening. But as it turns out, there is no escaping that night and the innocence that was lost. The rest of the album travels through less wrenching territory. “Blue Rockin’ Chair” is an easy, sleazy extended blues with Eric Bazilian providing raunchy guitar. Phoebe Snow joins in a vocal duet on the driving tale of survival “Ain’t No Time to Bleed.” Lucy Kaplansky provides background vocals on the ballad “Salt on Your Skin” while Andersen’s daughter Sari sings with him on another ballad, “Under the Shadows,” and the wide-open “Great Pyramid.” Andersen penned all the tunes on Beat Avenue, paying literary homage along the way -- especially on the title cut -- by turning to songwriters or poets to enliven his stories.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/25/2003
Label: Appleseed Records
UPC: 0611587106827
catalogNumber: 1068
Rank: 89227


Disc 1

  1. Ain't No Time to Bleed
  2. Before Everything Changed
  3. Salt on Your Skin
  4. Song of You and Me
  5. Shape of a Broken Heart
  6. Great Pyramid
  7. Under the Shadows
  8. Rains Are Gonna Come
  9. Runaway
  10. Stupid Love
  11. Still Looking for You
  12. Feel Like Comin' Home

Disc 2

  1. Beat Avenue
  2. Blue Rockin' Chair

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eric Andersen   Primary Artist,Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Vocals
Mark Egan   Electric Bass
Phoebe Snow   Vocals,Background Vocals
Lucy Kaplansky   Background Vocals
Robert Aaron   Organ,Bass,Flute,Guitar,Piano,Trumpet,Electric Bass,Keyboards,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Melodica
Eric Bazilian   Electric Guitar
Garth Hudson   Piano,Accordion,Hammond Organ,Tenor Saxophone
Dennis McDermott   Shaker,Hi Hat
Shawn Pelton   Drums
Michael Visceglia   Electric Bass
Billy Masters   Slide Guitar
Joyce Andersen   Violin
Katia Cadet   Background Vocals
Sari Andersen   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Eric Andersen   Composer,Producer
Bob Dylan   Author
Lisa Stewart   Composer
Robert Aaron   Composer,Producer
Geddy Lee   Composer
Alex Lifeson   Composer
Neil Peart   Composer
David Seitz   Engineer
Rachael Shock   Engineer
Carol Rothman   Executive Producer
Rae Shock   Engineer

Customer Reviews