by John R. McDonough


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


This latest book marks John McDonough's fourth book of published poems since 2013. Dr. John has proven to be a prolific writer, a person of rare insight and intelligence, an inspired artist with a deep well of words and ideas and perceptions. There are five separate sections in this book. Each represents a general theme and literary intent. There are new poems (never published before) and selected poems chosen from his three previous books of poetry. Blended together, the poems showcase a galvanizing core of subjects ranging from the miracles of nature to the search and components of a good life to the spiritual notions of the sacraments and beatitudes.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781719321167
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 07/03/2018
Pages: 152
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.33(d)

About the Author

John R. McDonough grew up in Tacoma, WA, is a graduate of Seattle University (B.S.), Creighton University (M.D. and M.S. in Physiology), and the University of California at Berkeley (M.P.H. in Epidemiology). He did his post-graduate medical training as an intern at St. Joseph Hospital in Tacoma, then as a resident in Internal Medicine at the U.S. Public Health Service Hospital in New Orleans, LA, and finally as a Cardiology Fellow at the University of Washington in Seattle, WA. He served as a Medical Officer with the U.S. Public Health Service from 1955 to 1975, and also served on the medical staff as Associate Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) at the University of Washington, where he was engaged in teaching and research. He then entered private practice as a cardiologist in Tacoma, retiring in 1998.
He has published three previous books of poetry: Casting About, 100 Lyric Poems from the Heart (2013), The Open Door (2014), and Winter Sun (2015). He has also published 27 short stories in The Good Doctor, a Memoir (2016), and a collection of novellas and short stories in Angels and Other Stories (2017).

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews