Beautiful Assassin

Beautiful Assassin

by Michael C. White
4.2 4

Hardcover

$23.05 $24.99 Save 8% Current price is $23.05, Original price is $24.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Beautiful Assassin by Michael C. White

“Michael White is a wonderful storyteller, and his work is long on atmosphere, and packed with action.”
—Kevin Baker, author of Paradise Alley

 

Michael White, author of Soul Catcher and the New York Times Notable Book A Brother’s Blood now brings us Beautiful Assassin—a stunning, relentlessly thrilling, and richly evocative historical novel. Fans of Sebastian Faulks’s Charlotte Gray, Ian McEwan’s Atonement, and Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin will adore this gripping tale of secrets and suspicion—as a beautiful Russian woman, one of World War Two’s most decorated snipers, is caught between her government’s deadly intrigues and First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061691218
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 03/30/2010
Pages: 448
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Michael White's previous novels include the New York Times Notable Book A Brother's Blood as well as The Garden of Martyrs and Soul Catcher, both Connecticut Book of the Year finalists. He is the director of Fairfield University's MFA program in creative writing, and lives in Connecticut.

Hometown:

Guilford, CT, USA

Date of Birth:

1952

Place of Birth:

Hartford, CT, USA

Education:

University of Connecticut - B.A., English; M.A., English, 1975, 1977; University of Denver - Ph.D., English

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Beautiful Assassin 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1996, reporter Elizabeth Meade muses over her obsession started a decade ago as the Soviet evil empire imploded when she first heard of the Russian sniper Tat'yana Levchencko. Elizabeth searched for clues about the Communist with Hollywood looks and a friend of First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt during WWII. Now in Eastern Colorado she will confront an elderly widow begging to learn the true story of Tat'yana Levchenko. At first hesitant as she does not want to be another Trotsky, the old woman tells how a poetess, mother, and wife became an empty nest widow avenging sniper Soviet-American heroine before being labeled a Communist spy. In 1942 the Germans without regard to civilians bombed and fired from the air at villagers in the Ukraine. A pilot saw her beloved three year old Masha and killed her. The sniper was born on that day as she joined the army. She became the top sniper and soon was invited to the White House by Eleanor Roosevelt. They became friends as they toured the country together. While Stalin demanded she spy on the Americans, Tat'yana realized these were not soft fat cats as described by Soviet propaganda. The American media began a blitzkrieg accusing her of being Stalin's pawn. She disappeared until now when a persistent reporter interviews an elderly widow. This is a superb 1940s drama seen through the eyes of a woman five decades later after she vanished. Her story is one of sadness as she loathed the murdering Nazis killing them, but also detested the Cold War participants who "killed" Tat'yana in their abusive disregard for her which was worse in many ways than the Germans who overtly tried to kill her. Yet she also brings rays of hope that the human spirit can overcome almost anything as she did with her late second husband Walter and someone else even while telling her heartbreaking tale. This is a winner that condemns nations for their expendable deployment of individuals. Harriet Klausner
Carol Pyke More than 1 year ago