Beautiful Chaos: Greatest Hits Live

Beautiful Chaos: Greatest Hits Live

by The Psychedelic FursThe Psychedelic Furs


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


The Psychedelic Furs will forever be one of the '80s' original bands, so their millennium re-formation was a defining success. Beautiful Chaos: Greatest Hits Live celebrates the Psychedelic Furs' classy, cool mix of Roxy Music and the Rolling Stones and the tour which boasted a monumental comeback. Recorded at Los Angeles' House of Blues, Beautiful Chaos is the band's first live album and a return to the basics. Richard Butler's campy swagger remains inviting and sensual, and the Furs' dreamy romance on cuts like "Heaven," "The Ghost in You," and "Love My Way" showcase an intimacy never lost. The dark aesthetic of "Sister Europe" blazes with Richard Fortus' cunning riffs and the glam licks on "President Gas" reiterate the Furs' confident nature; bass, guitar, and Butler's smoky, thick vocalic growl affirm the band's dramatic compositions. A studio track entitled "Alive" does show the band's age, but elegantly so. It shimmers with a comfort and warmth not found on the Furs' earlier albums. It's also proof that the Psychedelic Furs weren't just another pop band from the glossy new wave '80s. Beautiful Chaos suggests that their rawness was never gone, and the band, too, realizes that.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/20/2001
Label: Sony
UPC: 0696998619128
catalogNumber: 86191
Rank: 45835


  1. India
  2. Mr. Jones
  3. Heaven
  4. The Ghost in You
  5. Alive (For Once in My Lifetime)
  6. Love My Way
  7. Heartbreak Beat
  8. Sister Europe
  9. President Gas
  10. Into You Like a Train
  11. Pretty in Pink
  12. Dumb Waiters
  13. Alive (For Once in My Lifetime)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews