Bed Of Spices

Bed Of Spices

by Barbara Samuel

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Fans of Jo Beverley, Eloisa James, and Mary Balogh will love Barbara Samuel's smart, sensual historical stories.

A heart wrenching and uplifting tale of forbidden love in the middle ages by a beloved and award-winning author.

Solomon and Rica meet by chance at the herbalist's cottage and fall in love despite the divisions of religion, class, and expectations -- but how can they possibly find a happy ending with so many things stacked against them? A haunting and triumphant romance you will not easily forget.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781452486529
Publisher: Barbara Samuel
Publication date: 01/08/2010
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 321,609
File size: 755 KB

About the Author

Barbara Samuel (also known as Barbara O’Neal) is the bestselling author of more than 40 books, and has won Romance Writers of America’s RITA award an astounding six times. Her books have been published around the world, including France, Germany, Italy, and Australia/New Zealand, among others. One of her recent women’s fiction titles, The Lost Recipe for Happiness (written as Barbara O’Neal) went back to print eight times, and her book How to Bake a Perfect Life was a Target Club pick in 2011.

Whether set in the turbulent past or the even more challenging present, Barbara’s books feature strong women, families, dogs, food, and adventure—whether on the road or toward the heart.

Now living in her hometown of Colorado Springs, Barbara lives with her partner, Christopher Robin, an endurance athlete, along with her dog and cats. She is an avid gardner, hiker, photographer and traveler who loves to take off at dawn to hike a 14er or head to a faraway land. She loves to connect with readers and is very involved with them on the Internet.

You may read more about Barbara’s books at
BarbaraSamuel.com and BarbaraONeal.com
Read her blog: A Writer Afoot:
Facebook:
She also blogs regularly at The Lipstick Chronicles.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bed Of Spices 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
karenwodke on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Bed of Spices by Barbara Samuel is a wonderful period romance novel that is well-written, rich with historical detail, and entertaining from start to finish. The story centers around Rica and Solomon, and their forbidden romance. Set in the 1300¿s, the book deals with the plague and its subsequent impact on the Jewish population who were among those falsely blamed for the Black Death. Rica and Solomon can¿t help falling in love, but circumstances keep them apart.There are several sub-plots woven throughout as well. I found the book to be a very enjoyable read, extremely romantic, and at times even sensual. The love scenes are handled with finesse. I feel Barbara Samuel has captured a strong sense of the era along with the breathless excitement of first love. I would recommend this book to any reader who enjoys period romance done with style.
DianeYu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the things I love about this book is how different Solomon is as the hero of the story. He is drawn to Rica in spite of everything he believes in telling him to run the other way. He is a deeply religious man and his father beats him to try to stop him from his folly.Though the plot pulls them apart, they do reach their HEA, and the wedding scene will stay in my mind forever. Deeply moving story that will make you overlook its minor faults.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so great and the characters so realistic that my family had to remind me that they were fictional. I cried at the dark moments and rejoiced at the bright spots. But the greatest feeling ever was feeling love through the characters fresh eyes. I highly recommend this reading that taught me to help remember that not matter if we be jew or gentile we are all God' s children.
j2smith79935 More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic novel by Barbara Samuel. I love every one of her books that I have read, and this was no exception to that rule. Keep the fantastic books coming!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This one goes down as one of my alltime favorites. Putting it on my re-read list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
readingcrazyGT More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK IS AMAZING! This is the third book ive purchased this week cant get enough of this author! I havent laughed or blubbered in a long time in reading! You will not be put out with miss samuels writing. Well worth it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DebStover More than 1 year ago
The original print release of this book spent years safely nestled on my keeper shelf until I loaned it to a friend I thought really needed to read something about forbidden love. This unique and wonderful historical romance is a book for the ages, and I am thrilled that I can now download it to read again and again. Brava, Ms. Samuel! Keep them coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago