$81.35 $85.00 Save 4% Current price is $81.35, Original price is $85. You Save 4%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Beethoven Forum, Volume 1 by Beethoven Forum

This inaugural volume of Beethoven Forum presents the work of ten leading scholars who focus on an array of matters that clearly illustrate the vitality of current thought on Beethoven.

Scott Burnham leads off the collection with a discussion of the reception of Beethoven's Third Symphony, the Eroica, a composition that continues to spur new interpretations. In succeeding chapters James Webster analyzes the formal sophistication of Beethoven's most influential and idiosyncratic creation, the last movement of his Ninth Symphony; Roger Kamien and William Kinderman examine piano sonatas; David Smyth and Richard Kramer investigate string quartets; Robert Freeman discusses his discovery of previously unknown cadenzas for Beethoven's piano concertos; Theodore Albrecht relates Beethoven's reading of Shakespeare to Beethoven's own life, and both to the "Tempest" Sonata; and Nicholas Marston uses Barry Cooper's recent work on Beethoven as the basis for a consideration of value of sketch studies. In an especially innovating article Julia Moore discusses the economic forces that shaped Beethoven's career.

An annual series, Beethoven Forum will serve as an international venue for articles, notes, queries, critical exchanges, and reviews.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780803239067
Publisher: UNP - Nebraska
Publication date: 11/28/1992
Series: Beethoven Forum Series
Pages: 250
Product dimensions: 8.13(w) x 10.25(h) x 1.07(d)

About the Author

Christopher Reynolds is a professor and chair of the Department of Music at the University of California at Davis. His articles have appeared in Journal of the American Musicological Society, Nineteenth-Century Music, and Early Music History. Lewis Lockwood is Fanny Peabody Proessor of Music at Harvard University. He is the recipient of the Einstein, Kinkeldey, and Marraro prizes and author of Beethoven: Studies in the Creative Process, and Music in Renaissance Ferrara. James Webster is a professor of music at Cornell University. He received the Kinkeldey award for his book, Haydn's "Farewell" Symphony and the Idea of Classical Style.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews