Beethoven: Late String Quartets

Beethoven: Late String Quartets

by Colorado String Quartet


$18.35 $19.99 Save 8% Current price is $18.35, Original price is $19.99. You Save 8%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 17?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Beethoven: Late String Quartets

So often performed and recorded, so little enjoyed or comprehended, Beethoven's late string quartets remain among the supreme challenges for players and listeners alike. Players not only have to find something new to say about these works, they have to be able to articulate their findings in a way that can be comprehended. Listeners not only have to hear and understand what the works are about, they have to be able to compare what new performers have to say with what old performers had to say. The Colorado Quartet rises to the challenge on this 2008 release of the late quartets. In general, its approach is more visceral than intellectual, a distinct difference from most quartets' performances of these works. This is not to say that the interpretations are not fully thought-through -- the wealth of detail in the performances is proof of that -- but the playing is more impassioned and far more expressive than most quartets. Listen, for example, to the furious strength of the Allegro con brio from ther "F minor Quartet," the sustained bliss of the Cavatina from the "B flat major Quartet," or the easeful sublimity of the Molto adagio from the "A minor Quartet." Even in the excruciatingly intellectual "Grosse Fuge," the Colorado Quartet stresses the work's power and glory rather than its rigor and austerity. While many listeners will already have their favorite recordings of these works, the Colorado Quartet's recordings will repay their attention. Produced by Judith Sherman, these Parnassus recordings are a match for any labels for clarity and warmth.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/24/2008
Label: Parnassus
UPC: 0606345424428
catalogNumber: 96042
Rank: 67418


  1. String Quartet No. 11 in F minor ("Serioso"), Op. 95
  2. String Quartet No. 13 in B flat major, Op. 130: 1. Adagio ma non troppo; Allegro
  3. String Quartet No. 13 in B flat major, Op. 130: 2. Presto
  4. String Quartet No. 13 in B flat major, Op. 130: 3. Andante con moto ma non troppo (Poco scherzando
  5. String Quartet No. 13 in B flat major, Op. 130: 4. Alla danza tedesca: Allegro assai
  6. String Quartet No. 13 in B flat major, Op. 130: 5. Cavatina: Adagio molto espressivo
  7. Fugue for string quartet in B flat major ("Grosse Fuge"), Op. 133
  8. String Quartet No. 13 in B flat major, Op. 130: 6. Finale: Allegro
  9. String Quartet No. 12 in E flat major, Op. 127
  10. String Quartet No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 131
  11. String Quartet No. 15 in A minor ("Heiliger Dankgesang"), Op. 132
  12. String Quartet No. 16 in F major, Op. 135

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews